We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Treated like a VIP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #35 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location & Treated like a VIP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I've been reading the reviews for the past 2 months until I actually stayed at the hotel from Saturday-Tuesday and was quite impressed with the cleanliness, friendliness of staff, room and last but not least, the pool! My only knock on the place was the TV system because it was a disaster and had to call the engineering staff daily to have the system reset so I think mgmt should ditch this system and use the local cable provider, Cox or another satellite system. We were not in the room except late at night but it got irritating to call the Front Desk to attend to this issue. However, the front desk person, Stephanie was very open to calling the manager on duty, Shawn and get a credit on my account. It was very professional and courteous and appreciate the gesture. Therefore, I'll definitely be interested in returning on my next visit to the Big Easy!

The hotel has a great location above Bourbon Street and other than the daily garbage truck, external noise was kept to a minimum and it is so easy to walk in the French Quarter to the many restaurants, bars and clubs in the area. Josh was so helpful, informative and friendly about restaurants, activities and things to do in the City and represented the hotel in a professional manner. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to future travelers to the Crescent City and the breakfast was mediocre at best so if you're looking for a better breakfast, go to Mothers on Poydras Street for their brunch or Court of Two Sisters on Royal Street. Josh recommended Louisana bistro, a block from the hotel and their food was delicious and order the Louisana Couvillon, a seafood dish comprised of fish,shrimp,andouille sausage and rice. Good call!

Room Tip: If you're in the main hotel, pick a room away from Dauphine Street to avoid the daily garbage tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmilingSteve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    922
    237
    87
    41
See reviews for
451
1,078
67
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Spent three nights at The Dauphine, Thursday - Saturday. The Hotel was conveniently located in the French Quarter, the staff was amazing, the rooms were outstanding. Everything we hoped for in a hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our regular king room on the 4th floor in the main building was very comfortable. The bath was good size with ample, good quality, towels and toiletries. The robe is a nice touch. It was very clean and the climate control worked well. The staff is friendly and helpful. The free breakfast and free WIFI also add to the value. The location is very convenient to everything yet so quiet. I only regret that I didn't spot any of the resident ghosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubiclegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just left this wonderful chic hotel ....Great prime location excellent staff & services love love love this place I recommend it to anyone who wants a quality stay in the French Quarter area our room was cozy & quaint we had a private balcony it felt like a real bedroom instead of a hotel

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadYGray30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed at the Dauphine Orleans a couple times now and always have a great stay. My first visit sold me for good. Since it is on Dauphine street you get to enjoy some peace and quiet away from Bourbon. I loved my room across the street in the courtyard in particular - wow! Fabulous sleep jet tub, big closet, gorgeous o.d brick wall and a sumptuous bed. And I loved the courtyard outside, felt so private and homey. Quick walk to the rest of the Old Quarter. In the main hotel my room was a bit smaller and not as swanky, but still lovely. Nice pool area, garage, and they even helped get a rental car. Super nice staff. I don't ever want to stay anywhere else when I go to new Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geovest@aol.com
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Check-in great
Room Good
Bathroom Old
Parking Staff needs a tune up, not your typical "Love You Back" Staff.

You are one street North of Bourbon and Dauphine Street has been renovated, great side walks and street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scooterpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at the Duphine Orleans for a Halloween week in NOLA. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful! The hotel was clean and safe. We were only a block away from Bourbon, but we were never bothered by the bustle and noise of that part of the Quarter. On the other hand, we were able to walk out our door and into the action in minutes! The breakfasts were great -- lots of options. My sister and I enjoyed the pool (although it is small) and sat out in the courtyard a number of times. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjbarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,235 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,821 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing