We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
538 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed April 7, 2004

Great location, pretty room, and lots of nice amenities: complimentary breakfast, welcome cocktail, tea time. A maintenance problem was handled promptly.

Helpful?
2 Thank ILoveTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    1,113
    296
    111
    55
See reviews for
580
1,354
89
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 30, 2004

I had a fantastic time at the Dauphine. We were able to get the king jacuzzi suite above May Bailey's. It was absolutely delightful, the bed was among the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The tub was large, and comfortably accomodated two people. I was most worried about that, and had to get many hotels to admit their jet tubs wouldn't fit two people. There is a small balcony that faces the main building, and was nice to catch some fresh air in the mornings. The front desk guy, Shawn, was superbly friendly, we had a good time joking around. May Bailey's is a wonderful, quaint place and the bartender made reservations for us at an incredible restaurant...Olivier's. I have to grin at folks who talk about how "dirty" and unseamly NO is. This is not some pristine corporate resort with cabana boys. But if you want a down-home good time, make the trip.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2004

We've stayed at the Dauphine Orlean several times and have always enjoyed it immensely. We especially like the annex across the street, more privacy, closer to the hot tub etc. Also, the Continental brakfast is outstanding and a great way to start the day.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2004

Our room was clean and pleasant, and the continental breakfast was first rate -- such fresh fruit! We were in the main building, on the street, but noise was no problem. Albeit, we were there a week after fat tuesday. Other hotels at comparable prices were located 2-3 blocks out of the quarter downtown, and in retrospect, the Dauphine is a great location. The room was nice enough to have spent much more time it in, if there wasn't so much else to experience. The Evergreen air/water cleaning system is a definite plus. Great in-room drinking water! Also it was done up wonderfully each day. Don't forget to tip those maids.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trackser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 6, 2004

Went to Mardi Gras for our Honeymoon Stayed at the Dauphine Orleans 6 nights Everything was so GREAT! Location, Personel at hotel were great , Room was in the patio with private courtyard , so peacefull yet only steps away from the total wildness on Bourbon street. Everything Was GREAT

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2004

We stayed at the Dauphine 02/27/04-02/29/04. This was the week after Mardi Gras. The staff although having survived the hectic period went out of their way to serve us. They were extremely friendly. The rooms in the main buiding were quiet, clean and comfortable. The bar is excellent. The bar tender was Jeffery. He was very competent and friendly. The drinks were potent and reasonable. The hotel is located 1 block off Bourbon in the center, very convenient. They will take you by van within the city limits anywhere you want. The continental breakfast is more than continental. The Inn is very European not a mega resort. You will enjoy your stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank amrdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 16, 2004

My husband and I have been to New Orleans a few times, but this was our first trip to the Dauphine Orleans. And it won't be our last. We love this place. From the moment we pulled into the parking garage to the moment we left, we were treated better than any other hotel we've ever stayed at. We were guarenteed a parking place for the busy weekend, which was wonderful. The staff is polite and helpful. you get free welcome drinks in the hotel bar and discount coupons for other places in the area. The rooms are a nice size and the beds have 4 pillows and a body pillow. You get bathrobes and a mini bar too. The amenities are great. The courtyard is beautiful and you can eat the free breakfast out there in the morning. We love this place and can't wait to come back!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing