We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel near Bourbon St in the French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel near Bourbon St in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a great hotel on Dauphine St, a few minutes' walk from Bourban St (if that is your thing), yet quiet. The room was spacious and had all the usual amenities, the exercise room is very small, but nobody else seemed to use it, so it was all good. The salt-water pool they have is very nice and the whole pool area is very agreeable. We got a free drink at the May Bailey's bar on the premises with our stay, and we were very happy with our choice of hotel. The only thing that could be improved is the breakfast which wasn't bad but not as much of an improvement over a standard motel breakfast as we would have hoped. Other than that, there is nothing to complain about, and I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lommelun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    922
    237
    87
    41
See reviews for
451
1,077
67
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our first trip to New Orleans and did not know what to expect. The Dauphine Orleans was in the French Quarter and super convenient for walking everywhere. The hotel staff was great. The room we had was 411. It was very small, but worked. In room coffee and refrigerator was wonderful. The fitness room was great and the breakfast hit the spot. All of the staff were so helpful. The French Quarter is very old and had lots of characters walking the streets. Beware of persons trying to scam you for cash around Jackson Square. Loved the French Quarter experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When researching hotels for New Orleans you have to sift through a lot of nonsense. Ones that don't deliver on amenities (i.e.. wi-fi, breakfast,etc). From the time I checked in, until they kindly arranged my cab at my departure was nothing short of amazing. The hotel is a short walk from NOLA's explosive and noisy Bourbon St- you wouldn't know it from the silence that surrounds you at the Dauphine. The staff was extremely kind and always smiling. They served a real breakfast every single day and even tea in the afternoon!Aisha was very accommodating and the lady who checked us in (I think her name was Crystal, please look this up she deserves a pat on the back) did everything in their power to insure we had a pleasurable experience during a very crazy week for us (Essence Music Festival). I'd recommend this lovely boutique hotel to anyone who will listen. You won't be sorry. In fact you may track me down to buy me lunch. GO!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to experience the real French Quarter make it a point to stay at The Dauphin Orleans.
This hotel is well appointed and is in the heart of the action in the French Quarter. The prices are reasonable and they have upscale rooms for those who demand more.

I highly recommend that you stay at this hotel as I have been staying there for more than 20 years.

Signed,

An Old Quarter Rat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived in Nola with. Reservation to stay at the Cotton Exchange. Upon arrival we could not believe what we saw. Everyone I their early 20's and we are seniors. I immediately checked to see if there was anything left at the Dauphin where we usually stay for a room and they had one double double left so we took it. The Cotton Exchange was willing to give us all our ones back but to Orbitz they required one nits deposit which I intend to challenge.

Anyway off to the beautiful Dauphine nice room but we were upgraded the next day because our TV didn't work. They gave us a king suite with a balcony. The week was wonderful. They provide a continental breakfast which I would say was more like a restaurant breakfast.

I will only book the Dauphine New Orleans in the future. Also met the owner he is Wonderful downtown earth person. Attached to the hotel pool is the May Bailey bar and it enters into the courtyard around the pool. Drinks handy after 4. Also they provide tea and lemon water inthe afternoon. Nothing but service to the guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Dauphine Orleans over 4th of July. Check-in was a breeze. Our room was clean, a little small but adequate for our needs. The bathroom was large and had marble floors. The pool and courtyard area was nice. The free breakfast was a plus. It had the basics of make your own waffles, fresh fruit, sausage, bagels, muffins... certainly enough to start your day. The staff was attentive, friendly, and always asked how we are enjoying our stay. The location was the best. Just a short two block walk to Bourbon St. Close enough, but far enough away from the noise. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touey50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had an incredible stay at the Dauphine Orleans. Aisha at the front desk was exceptional and helped us in every way to make our experience perfect. She helped arrange for champagne and chocolates to be delivered as well as in room spa treatments. We stayed in the Hermann house and it was absolutely beautiful. The pool and lounge area were fantastic to relax and take a quick dip. We had such a great time in New Orleans and loved coming back to this hotel every night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccasweetie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,144 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,231 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,816 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing