We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #47 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel from June 21-23, 2013. I'll start with its location. One block away from Bourbon St. yet very quiet day or night. It has two buildings--one on each side of Dauphine Street. Our first night was in the secondary building-the Hermann building. The room was very quaint and spacious. We went to dinner and returned around midnight for bed only to have to hear the guests above us having sex. Luckily this only lasted a minute. What kept us up till 3am was the noise from their constant walking. It sounded like a thunderous herd of elephants. So the next morning I asked the front desk to switch us to another room. Ashley Noble was working the front desk, and she was awesome! She moved us over to the main building into room 103. A smaller room but we were now on the uppermost level with only one neighbor to our right and no one below us. Perfect solitude! Ok for a quick listing of amenities provided by the hotel: vouchers for a drink at the bar, cookies and tea every afternoon, complimentary bottled water, free wifi, large safe in rooms. Very cool pool and patio area. Complimentary breakfast buffet every morning. Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisandTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,540 - 2,546 of 3,522 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Loved the old-style hodgepodge of buildings and courtyards at this friendly, quaint hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. We had rooms in the main building which were comfortable and easily accessible, if not a bit dark. Looked a room in the Carriage House but had to walk around the perimeter of the pool on a narrow walkway to access the room, so that location did not appeal to us. The rooms in the carriage house are a bit larger, but again seemed to lack sufficient light from the outside, probably designed to keep the rooms cooler. The pool and surrounding courtyard was appealing to the eye but definitely on the small side and is the center of traffic and activity since one has to cross the pool-courtyard to access the breakfast room and, as mentioned above, the Carriage House rooms. Service on all levels (front desk, maintenance, housekeeping, valets) was outstanding, courteous and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 311 in the main building has a small sit-down balcony overlooking the pool, great for early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Here’s a town overflowing with accommodation – and the wider the choice the more difficult the decision. Given New Orleans is such a unique location it seemed sensible to pick a hotel in the very center of that uniqueness – the French Quarter. And then why not choose a hotel that hopefully reflects the distinctive character of this vibrant place? So we thought - forget the hotel chains – if you want to capture the heart and soul of this town we have to choose an eclectic boutique hotel. Cue Trip Advisor. Again, spoilt for choice – up came Hotel Mazarin in Bienville St and Hotel le Marais in Conti St and many others. So with all the skill of forensic scientists we set about dissecting the various websites to sort the hype from the facts and to find a hotel to best capture the essence of this very unusual American location. The result – the Dauphine Orleans Hotel in Dauphine St – which is parallel to Bourbon Street one small block away but without the noise and frenzy. Indeed, the Dauphine was a calm oasis – serene and relaxed. The bedrooms are either in the main house, the Carriage House or the Hermann House and we took a premium king in the latter which is across the road from the main hotel. We paid $229 including breakfast plus another $30 for tax plus garage parking at $34 plus $4 tax – all told about $300. Incidentally, this was a higher Friday price given that Friday/Saturdays carry a hefty additional premium over midweek. The room was fine – no real criticisms – ok, perhaps on the small side, but then this is a city center site and part of a nineteenth century building. I quite liked the feature of the natural brickwork but there was not a lot of natural daylight in the room. There was a fridge, free wifi and a very comfy bed. The room opened straight out into the outside world with a wooden walkway at first floor level. Incidentally, all the facilities of the hotel – bar, breakfast room, small pool, on-site garage – were across the road in the main hotel. However, I enjoyed this hotel and to me it captured the spirit of a town which is very different from any other I’ve seen in the USA. As they say, I’ll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely stay. The hotel was clean with a lovely, quaint atmosphere. Even breakfast was well put together. Our service, however, made our trip! Everyone was so helpful and friendly- we were thrilled. They made the whole trip fantastic. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clvrmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed as a group of 12 and had all types of rooms. The front desk staff was great. They were always friendly and helpful. It was nice to stay so close to the "action" but far enough away that you couldn't hear it! The beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was a little more than just "continental" with great sausage! The courtyard area and pool were nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshdaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

good time in the big easy. very nice place to stay. The bar was quaint, drinks good, staff was excellent. Breakfast bar was nice, could have used some eggs other than boiled. Parking on premises was good and bellmen were good, front desk was very helpful with directions etc

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The girl at check in greeted us with a warm and welcoming smile . She was very friendly and helpful . We had traveled 14 hours to get there and it was sure nice to be treated so well. Our rooms were so comfortable. We traveled with another couple and they had the same experience we did. Loved the atmosphere of the hotel. We will definitely stay here next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,500 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,379 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $134 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing