We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Charm! Can't beat the rates!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Charm! Can't beat the rates!”
Reviewed February 2, 2004

The Dauphine was one of the highlights to our little road trip from Seattle. As it was our first experience in the South, we got loads of the famous Southern Charm from the folks at the Dauphine.

We were greeted by sincerely friendly service and a round of cocktails from the lovely bartender. Our cozy rooms had two balconies over looking the courtyard. Don't overlook the stationary stack in the rooms, a surprise proclamation awaits...

The hotel is a 2 block trot from Burbon Street and was a perfect escape from a wild night of bar hopping. Secure parking with impeccable window washing service is available prix compris.

When we checked out, the hotel let us take a peek at the unoccupied suites in the hotel. This definitely gave us something to look forward to for our next trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank LuvGoodEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,572
    1,159
    307
    120
    58
See reviews for
626
1,426
92
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 1, 2004

The hotel is beautifully decorated, clean, and has nice courtyards.
However, fumes of chemcials in the hot tub were over whelming!!!! The hotel staff weren't the friendliest, no one smiled or acknowledged us -- we felt ignored, especially in the bar. We were the only ones in the bar, and it still took the bar tender 10 minutes to say hi to us.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechanicsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2004

My wife and I spent a weekend here in January. She'd selected it and was disappointed once we arrived, it certainly looked nothing like you'd imagine based upon their website. The lobby (if you want to call it that) is very cheesy, looks like a '60's motel. The elevator is off of the parking garage, and looks like a tiny beat up freight elevator.
The halls are musty and have certainly seen their better days, and are in dire need of paint and new carpet. The room itself was very large, but hadn't been remodeled or redecorated in decades and also smelled musty. Room service made the bed and replaced towels (which were threadbare and thin) but that was it. Coffee or kleenex weren't replaced, trash cans weren't even emptied. Breakfast is some tiny grocery store bagels and containers of cream cheese, hardboiled eggs, donuts, make your own toast, boxes of cereal, and make your own waffles.

The location is great, very central but a block away from Bourbon Street so it's quiet. Bayona is right across the street. Other than that, there's not much I can really say positive about it. I don't know what all these glowing reviews are from - if you compare it to a Motel 6 I guess it would be nice. But compared to even a middle of the road Marriott or Hilton it leaves a lot to be desired. You'd expect cleanliness at a minimum for $150+ a night. We thought we'd be staying at a place that had some old New Orleans charm - and this place was charmless. Sounds like they have additional rooms across the street from the main hotel - wish we would have known that beforehand and requested them, because the main hotel is basically a dump. If you're accustomed to nice hotels I'd be careful.

Helpful?
4 Thank iowahawk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 15, 2004

The courtesy van driver (Asa) is wonderful! The rest of the staff are o.k. Our room was the smallest in which I've ever stayed, but it was clean. We reserved a suite for the 2nd/3rd nites, but it was dirty and scary (hot sauce on the couch) and looked like there was a party in it the nite before we took it. We moved back to our little room where we were at least used to the weirdness. Our stay was quite an experience.
The very, very best part is the complimentary cocktail. Ma Bailey's was the very best bar we went to during out entire trip. Both the bartenders were wonderful. The drinks were the best. This was our 1st time in NO and we found it to be very dirty, not too friendly, and somewhat dangerous. Dauphine is very New Orleans. I'm glad we did it for the experience, but we wouldn't do it again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2004

My husband & I (along with about 14 other couples) visited New Orleans 4 months ago and stayed at the Dauphine for the first time. We absolutely loved it!! It was close enough to the happenings on Bourbon, but was also very quiet when we needed it. The folks were extremely friendly, especially Amy the bartender at May Baileys Place. I will recommend this hotel to any one that asks and will also stay here again on my next visit to the Big Easy!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank LMayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2004

My sister and I stayed at the Dauphine Orleans for a long weekend in August. It was her birthday and the staff was so thoughtful and placed a bottle of champagne on ice with glasses in our room. Our room was spotless and we especially appreciated the air cleaning system and wonderful pillows. Although the bathroom was small it was nice with marble vanity and water filtration system. The staff was very helpful without being intrusive. Make sure to eat at the restaurant across the street, Bayona. It was to die for! The little pool in the courtyard was great for cooling off and sunbathing.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSpike34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 3, 2004

i stayed at the dauphine in march of 2003 after mardi gras had passed and was delighted with how quiet it was, yet how close to all the action of the french quarter. i had an absolutely gorgeous room across the street from the main hotel overlooking a captivating courtyard. my room was just beautiful, i loved the brick walls, the huge comfortable bed, the french doors, the jet tub. i felt like a princess in it and the room was very clean and inviting. the hotel exceeded my expectations (i found it online) and i would stay there again in a heartbeat. in fact, i fully intend to do just that this spring.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,298 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,152 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,540 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#35 of 163 in New Orleans
2,262 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing