We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet spot just steps from the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet spot just steps from the action”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel Dauphine has clean rooms, comfortable beds, helpful staff. Its surprisingly quiet for its close proximity to the action. It has a small quiet courtyard with seating. Great restaurants, shops and galleries and music within walking distance. There is a great bike rental just a few blocks away if you want to explore more of this fabulous town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    1,175
    313
    122
    60
See reviews for
654
1,439
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. Great location in French Quarter. Would stay there again and recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in the carriage house which was worth the extra money, lots of space, king sized bed and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was so thrilled to go to New Orleans - went on a sisters weekend. The parking attendent Michael was fabulous the front desk people were terrific.However, first the pool was freezing, they advertise a hot tub. The hot tub is across the street and is so worn out. We lifted the lid and the water was cold and there was sand in the seats, so we didn't get to relax in the hot tub. The first night we found that the bathtub did not drain, we called and a gentleman came up and worked on if for a few minutes, but said - it is" just old plumbing and there was nothing he could do". Next day we came back and found the beds made, but no vacuuming, no trash emptied and sheets not changed. The we noticed the bathroom floor had a big puddle in it, we found that the toilet was leaking. We let them know and it was never looked at. We checked out the next day we all split the bill 3 ways - several days later the two of us that paid with a credit card got another charge from them for $54.88. We called and they were not helpful and firm that an error had been made in the room rates - and they charged us more. Now we were not given the decency to give us a phone call, just hit our credit cards. I have read several other posts on tripadvisor about this hotel and how others have been cheated out of money and other complaining about the poor cleaning. Trust me DO NOT STAY here.

Room Tip: If you choose a balcony overlooking the street, there is no door to get out on the balcony there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anad7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Dauphine Orleans several times over the past five years, during Jazz Fest. We love the location and have always found the staff and accommodations welcoming and comfortable. Much prefer this setting to the large hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslieksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I enjoyed everything about my stay at the Dauphine Orleans. I loved the quaint little courtyards. The room was cute as could be. The bed was comfortable. It was quiet even though it's only a block from Bourbon Street. The parking garage allowed us to leave our car past check out time so we could continue to explore NOLA. The attendant was very helpful with directions & where to go & not go for safety's sake. Yes, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I love the Hermann House rooms, across the street from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpikesShieldmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the first time in April/May 2011. This would have been my second stay. It does have a great location in the french quarter. The newest section of the hotel is modern, with clean rooms. The older section of the hotel, which has beautiful rooms with warm wood furniture is not very well kept. The rooms are musty, very dark, and you will find insects. Also, the hotel has a an awkward setup with the old part and the new. I chose this hotel again because my Swiss friends find it charming and that is has a great location. For this second stay, I made my reservation six months in advance, in October 2012, directly with the hotel. We were looking to attend the Jazz Fest, for the last week of April 2013. Unfortunately, I had to cancel at the last moment since the group I was traveling with cancelled their reservations and I was not willing to travel solo during such a busy time. Unfortunately, the hotel charged me a penalty of a one-night stay including taxes, which added up to about $400! The reservations' manager was not willing to compromise, unless I submitted a medical excuse. I could not do so because I was not sick. My traveling companions made the reservations via a travel agency, which usually charges the hotel a percentage. I do not recommend making reservations directly with the hotel. As a senior citizen, I feel that travelers need to protect themselves and their pockets!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the modern part of the hotel and cleaner than those at the older part.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank beba1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location is fantastic and the staff is very friendly. But, I really didn't think our room was cleaned properly. The toilet base was dirty and the bathroom fan was not effective. There was something (looked like a chicken tender chunk) in the open closet and in a visible location. There was also a layer of dust and debris around baseboards. We had inquired about the bathroom cleaning, but I saw no changes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,197 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,586 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#32 of 164 in New Orleans
2,274 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing