We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, decent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great location, decent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here on business for a couple of nights. The location of the hotel is great. It is within walking distance to everything in the French Quarter. It is also located on a quiet street and doesn't really get the noise from Bourbon street. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast was very good as well. The courtyard with the pool is also very nice. I thought the room was just ok. It is an older hotel, which can be charming, but it could definitely use some updates. I found the carpet in the room to be very musty smelling and in need of replacement. I actually found the carpet in the breakfast area to also be somewhat musty. The shower head in the room did not work very well and it was annoying trying to get it work each morning. I also felt the hotel staff kept pushing the same restaurant on me, which wasn't really what i was looking for. Overall i think it is very good for the location but the rooms I would consider average and could use some renovations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    1,051
    277
    105
    55
See reviews for
534
1,276
82
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Loved the hotel - except for being a bit loud. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a kingsized bed which was very comfy. Everyone was very nice. Our room was on the 2nd floor above the parking garage. When in New Orleans - you stay out late and therefore want to sleep in. Everytime a car is locked, a horn honks! Very annoying and no way to get around it. EVERYTHING else about this hotel is perfect. The breakfast was very good - lots of options and more than I expected. The location is great - and the reason we booked the room. I just wish there was a way to avoid honking of horns and yelling of valets starting very early in the am.
I had asked for a quiet room - can't imagine these folks didn't know there were previous complaints from the second floor stays. Ask for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lovely hotel in a convenient location. It was a close walk to everything in the Quarter. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was pretty and the breakfast was nice. We will definately stay here again

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor next to the elevator and it was a little noiser. Next time, I would ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a little getaway. We enjoyed ourselves very much. The hotel was clean. Everyone we encountered was so friendly and helpful!! Having the bottled water in our room each day was a bonus! We loved having breakfast just downstairs each morning. While this wasn't an issue for us, some people may want to request a courtyard room. I would recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely stay, quiet and worked beautifully for my wife and I. We stayed in the Hermann house, 241. This room was very quiet even with all of the noise from Bourbon Street. The only complaint is that the bed had debris from the brick on the bed. We easily wiped off but could be a detractor of the room. The price was on the lower end of rooms in the quarter and the service was excellent. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor of the Hermann Houses are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alldayeveryday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was lovely. Surprisingly quiet considering Bourbon Street is only a block away. There are three reasons this is not a perfect 5 stars. First, the windows are nailed shut so we were unable to get any fresh air and we were slightly concerned about fire-safety. Second, we were not put in the room we had originally booked (it was a downgrade which meant no jetted tub for us). Third, there was no airport shuttle or car service and we had to take a cab. Everything else was perfect! We were able to rest comfortably on the large King Size Bed in the room (as my husband is 6'8" and I am 5' 10"). The breakfast offered a good selection. The staff was very friendly (but not inappropriate) and made chocolate magically appear when I was having a craving late at night one night as I mentioned it to my husband while walking through the lobby. There was a safe in room that easily accommodated what we needed it for with room left over. The desk held a history of the hotel which was interesting to read about. Didn't realize when I booked it for our honeymoon that it had once been a bordello (maybe that helped make the honeymoon better?). And while we were told we might see a ghost there (I was hoping), we never once saw anything supernatural or got the heebie jeebies there. The staff make the hotel feel like a home away from home and give great recommendations for dining and music. There is a computer for guest use in the lobby. The bar has a nice bartender and fun decor- we loved the settee in the corner as it was a great snuggle spot. The pool takes up the majority of the courtyard and is lovely to sit next to and dangle feet in while reading a good book from the bookstore across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that actually open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrystalique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to New Orleans and the Dauphine. It was wonderful. We had a second floor balcony room overlooking Dauphine. It was a bit noisy at times, but was fun to sit and watch the people up and down the street. We new a little more of what to expect this time, so were prepared for the "early" trash truck pickup. The room was spotless, beds were very comfortable. Breakfast room was well maintained. Staff was extremely efficient, very friendly and welcoming. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyfid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing