We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One block from Bourbon Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #43 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We asked for a quiet room and got it (on the fourth floor). Staff was welcoming and efficient; lobby is small. Since we arrived at 4:30 p.m. we decided to cash in our complimentary drinks at the adjoining bar and rest for a bit, but the bar was dark and smoky, and the dozen chairs surrounding the pool area were taken. We decided to forego the drinks and start exploring the French Quarter, a great take-off point. Besides its ideal location, the hotel offers a wonderful complimentary breakfast (waffles, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, sausage patties.) Our room wasn't spacious but clean and comfortable, especially the bed. Free internet, flat screen TV, coffee and two bottles of water each day. Only thing missing was a small refrigerator where we could store leftovers from all the dinners we enjoyed. We eventually had our two drinks by the pool in very comfortable chairs and later discovered a side courtyard with more chairs near the James Audubon breakfast room. He was supposed to have painted his bird series here. True or not, we loved this bit of New Orleans history in our hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor on the inside was quieter, though we heard noise from the air conditioning (it was white n...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bannerdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,321)
There are newer reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,555 - 2,561 of 3,321 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in room 211 at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel for 3 nights
and found the our stay really enjoyable with the hotel providing all one could ask for and a little bit more.

The room was a little on the small size, but not inconveniently so - yet provided a nice large bed, a open cupboard with iron, ironing board and safe with a key. One also has a good wide screen TV, a fridge and a small balcony that overlooked the courtyard and pool.
The best part of the room was that the sun set through our window and onto the bed in the evening - perfect for a late afternoon nap in the sun before one jazzes the night away in the Big Easy.

The bathroom was nice and big with a good shower, that was a puzzle in terms of getting to work on first use. Very nice toiletries and ample towels. The hotel also offers pool towels at the poolside.

The venue was well situated for a stay in New Orleans - only a block away from the tourist hellhole that is Bourbon Street - but also a good distance away from all the other parts of the French Quarter. As mentioned there is a pool with some sun loungers, which is great and there is also a very nice bar connected to the hotel. (Jennifer, the bar lady was very helpful and reminded me of the classic bar person who always has time to have a chat with customers)

The breakfast at the hotel is worth noting, because after 30 days of traveling across the USA, this was the first hotel that did an excellent breakfast. Everything was on offer, with great coffee to boot. Also the ladies who take care of the breakfast section were some of the nicest, most hospitable people we dealt with in New Orleans.

Parking was a robbery at $32 per night. Yes it is valet parking, yes parking in the French Quarter is expensive, but when I'm staying at hotel, the parking should be cheaper than the lot around the corner ($25 per day) - especially when one considers the tip for the Valet. Mike was a notable valet on site and is worthy of commendation.

The positive aspects include the hotels location - close enough to be near the action, far away enough to not suffer from the noise of late night parties. The staff were all very helpful - the reception seemed a little unhappy, but once in the the building everyone else was cheery. The pool, the bar, the breakfasts; well, they were all great.

The only real negative aspects were somewhat out of the hotels hands; cockroaches. Now before you instantly dismiss this hotel on the basis of that word - I can safely say that every place in the French Quarter probably has this problem (and I'm not just talking about some of the unsavory characters on the streets) - but when I went to get ice in the evenings, I always spied a few friendly roaches hanging around the ice room at the end of the hall.
The other aspect that impacted negatively our stay was city building works - the whole of the French Quarter - in fact the city seems to be under repair - the street cars, the roads, buildings. Nothing quite ruins the picturesque memory I have of the city than orange road cones, piles of tar and construction workers.

To conclude the hotel is a good place to stay in the French Quarter because it strikes that perfect balance between having a room nearby if you want to spend the whole day exploring the French Quarter and surrounds, while also providing enough activities on site that means that should you need a days rest from all the partying - it is all there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is my second stay at the Dauphine and it will not be my last. The staff are very accommodating. The room is clean, mattresses and pillows comfortable. The breakfast choices are huge and unexpected. Lemon water and iced tea are put out daily for guests. The pool area is clean and the pool is a refreshing end to a long hot day. Most people are unaware that there is a hot tub across the street for guests to use. Take a towel with you as there are none over there. I usually stay at Harrah's because of the extra large rooms and bathrooms but this place feels much more comfortable and is in the center of it all. ♥

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmkPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, and even though we had a room on Dauphine St, it wasn't too noisy on a Saturday night. Excellent bar which is well worth a late night visit, as well as a very restful courtyard with a small pool. We asked to change room on arrival as the first room offered was very dark.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

After spending 5 days in Memphis, my daughter and I flew to New Orleans where we were fortunate enough to stay at Daupine Orleans. A lovely Hotel with amazingly friendly and helpful staff. We had heard the Hotel was haunted and then thought nothing more about it. On our first night, after reading/watching some TV, we turned out the lights and TV and settled down for a much needed rest. About 10 mins later, the TV came back on...neither of us said anything at first - thinking the other had turned it on...no, neither of us had and the remote was on the other side of ther room. The next night, while we were watching TV - it suddenly turned off...hmmm...just sayin"..lol!

The Hotel was great...we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. A big shout out to Alvine who was our extremely helpful and friendly Front Desk Clerk. She definitely walked that extra mile for us and Dauphine Orleans is lucky to have her! We also appreciated the friendly services of Mike, who not only ordered our Taxis, but, had some good Dining Recommendations. Located within walking distance of Bourbon Street, The French Market, Jackson Square & Canal Street, there is absolutely no need for a car.

Our stay in New Orleans was made so much better by this Hotel and it's Staff! I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room away from the Elevator!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlet177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

The location, a block from Bourbon Street, was quiet yet still a close walk to anywhere in the French Quarter. The room was comfortable, clean and updated. Very comfortable bed. No fridge or microwave, but food is never very far away in the Quarter! I appreciated the exercise room, which was small but had new cardio equipment. The complimentary breakfast was definitely above average, and most importantly, the staff - especially at the front desk - was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were greeted by the kind staff at the front desk, quickly given our keys and directions and headed to the room. We stayed in room 111, which is just past the bar and has its own staircase. We did not know this and it would have been a big problem had we not been capable of climbing stairs. It was kind of weird an we felt a bit isolate. Our room was great though! Nice and big with 2 bathrooms and a very comfortable bed. We later found out our room was haunted and the maid said some of the staff even refuse to clean it! We loved the location and it was easy to walk everywhere. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursemelis374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 165 in New Orleans
1,917 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 165 in New Orleans
528 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 165 in New Orleans
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $141 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing