We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, reasonably priced..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Paranaque City, Metro Manila
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, reasonably priced..”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Staying at Dauphine Orleans Hotel was such a pleasant experience.. The staff (esp Ayeesha) was so accommodating.. She even upgraded our room to a courtyard suite.. I suggest you get a courtyard room so that you'll have access to a small garden where it's so nice to have coffee and read a book.. I loved the room we had with it's brick walls, and wooden beams. It's so old-timey.. It's only a block away from Bourbon Street, so you're close to the action, but not too close to be bothered by the noise.. The free drink at May Maison was a great way to end our first night in N'awlins.. Plus free breakfast and free wifi.. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanieEyeMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,575
    1,162
    309
    121
    58
See reviews for
631
1,428
92
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location is great, the reseptionists and valet guys are really friendly and we loved the little pool area. Nice place to relax after a long day walking around the city. The breakfast was very good, and the staff was constantly filling up with things when we were there.
First impression of the room (and the rest of the hotel) was very good, it all looked really nice. The room was spacious and very clean, and the aircondition was quiet and worked really well. Only thing I missed was a fridge.

But, we had several problems during our 3 nights stay.
The tub had a leak and kept dripping all night (which was really annoying), and the drain was almost completly clogged (you would stand with water over your ancles after a 3 minute shower, and it would take forever do drain. Don´t know how long, but at least an hour. Disgusting! We told the reseptioninst the first morning, and she said that she would send someone. I don´t know if she did or not, but the problem was not solved.
Also, the mattress was just horrible. It was a nice Tempur mattress, but it really should be replaced, I´ve never seen a mattress that sunk in the middle (you could se it even when the bed was made, and clarely when you took the covers off, so the maids should have picked up on it). It was really uncomfortable.
The last complaint we have is that one of the days our room was not done when we got back to the hotel at 5:30PM. That is just not ok.

I think we were just unlucky with our room and would probably give it another try if we´re ever coming back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solsikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our first trip to New Orleans was great. We stayed at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our check-in/check out was very smooth. The hotel grounds was very well maintained. the outdoor patio/pool area was very relaxing. Our room was clean and was to your standards. The house keeping did a wonderful job keeping our room/bathroom stocked with essentials. The hotel was conveniently located to all the French Quarter has to offer. We were in walking distance from every thing. It was nice to tour the Quarter and party on Bourbon St. but retreat back to the hotel for peace and quiet. We will definitely stay there again when we visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiatook
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was a nice hotel. Stayed July 1st through the 5th. Its located a block away from bourbon street and a very short walk to jackson square and the river. The room itself was clean, (see exception below), and comfortable and the staff was friendly. I wouldn't get a balcony room again due to the noise. Once the partiers clear out the cleanup begins early, talkin 5 or 6 am the garbage trucks come through then the delivery trucks start showin up. Not the hotels fault. just ask for a room in the back. The only thing negative i can say is the carpet was dirty. Our socks are black on the bottom from walking around in the room. But this was not typical of the rest of the room, which was kept extremely nice by the hotel staff. Over all we liked the hotel, location, staff, pool, breakfast, bed was all nice. Will stay here again if we go back.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the back away from dauphine street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel was very nice and in a great location. It was nice to come back from noisy Bourbon street to a quite swim or sleep. The saltwater pool was very relaxing. The valet guys are friendly and very helpful on where to go and things to see. The hauntings in this hotel are real, We even got a picture of an orb on the roof of the original building. I would recommend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Call05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

New Orleans is not cheap, but the Dauphine was a (relatively) affordable option during a recent stay to the area. It makes it easy to walk, take a bus, or street car to many of the city's must-see attractions. The courtyard area is very nice and provides a relaxing oasis in the French Quarter - and you can't even hear the noise from Bourbon Street, which is just a block over. The free breakfast buffet in the morning is quite extensive - in addition to the usual pastries and breads, there were hard-boiled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, waffles, yogurt, and fruit. The room I had was clean, but it wasn't the most up-to-date and it did not have any overhead lighting, which I found a bit odd.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surlarue35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis mo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed stayed from June 24 - June 27 and loved the hotel. It was the perfect location for us, just a block off of Bourbon Street and within walking distance to all the attractions we wanted to see. The hotel was clean, the beds were extremely comfortable and the staff was super friendly. Our only complaint was that the breakfast items didn't get replenished when they ran out. It wasn't a deal breaker, but it was a little annoying. We liked the charm of an older hotel and felt like we got a great French Quarter experience with many modern convienences. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 145cherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,309 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,158 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
2,559 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 163 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing