We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectaions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We visited NOLA for our 35th wedding anniversary. The Dauphine’s Orleans location was great. We loved the quiet room in the carriage house. It seemed very private and quaint and the cottage like atmosphere did not feel like we were in a hotel. The room was very clean. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The cool AC saved us from the oppressive heat in the midafternoon. We found it odd the guestroom did not have a mirror, but in our situation we did not care. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Sarah, the bartender at May Baily’s recommendations for food and music were perfect every time. The breakfast was pretty good and very convenient. We would certainly choose the Dauphine Orleans again.

Room Tip: The Carraige House has direct access from outdoors.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,324)
There are newer reviews for Dauphine Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,646 - 2,652 of 3,324 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

My fiance and I just returned from our trip down to New Orleans. We stayed at the Dauphine from Tuesday, June 19 to Saturday, June 23rd. Our stay was lovely. We arrived at the hotel much earlier than check-in time but we were immediately checked in, without a problem. Additionally, we made it in time for breakfast, which ended at 10 AM on weekdays. The breakfast was the same every morning: waffles, bagels, toast, fruit, pastries, cereal,yogurt etc. It was all very fresh and we never tired of it.
The room was very, very clean and pretty. We had a room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. The bathroom was surprisingly big and housekeeping kept it clean every single day.
We were very pleased with this hotel and would definitely return!

P.S. Supposedly, the hotel is haunted and we believe that we experienced a bit of it! We found our balcony door opened three times during our stay. There was no such wind hard enough to open the door and we locked it every. single. time. Additionally, we found the doorknob with the lock still on, but the door wide open (if that makes any sense).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garnetstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lovely hotel, efficient and friendly staff and excellent location in the French Quarter - very central but not noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank careid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Amazing, sweet hotel. would go back to NOLA just to stay there. And best bookstore in the world is right across the street.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking Dauphine street
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We can't say enough positive things about the Dauphine Orleans Hotel and staff! Location was excellent. Parked the car when we arrived and never used it till we left. Our parking was included in the price of our room(negotiated when we booked it). The breakfast was included(and it was great) along w free WiFi. We were in the heart of the French Quarter but never heard a sound. The bed was BIG and VERY comfortable. Our room was HUGE w frig-wet bar-couch-table. The staff was professional, courteous,knowledgeable and very friendly. It was our first trip to NOLA and it was the perfect vacation. Beautiful memories--have already recommended this hotel to friends and would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Negotiate your parking when booking your room. Ours was included
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the French Quarter. Once you park your car there is no reason to need it again unless you want to venture outside the city. Walk around the block and you are in the heart of Bourbon St. The Canal Street and St. Charles trolleys are just a few blocks away and if you are energetic you can walk to Harrah's and the riverfront.

Rooms and the bathroom are beautifully appointed, although small. This is a very old building so I expected this. We had an interior room on the third floor so there was no issue with noise. We weren't there on a weekend or Mardi Gras but it seemed that most of the street noise stayed contained on Bourbon St.

In an attached building, the hotel's bar (called May Bailey's) seemed to have retained its decor when it was a brothel back in the old days. It was interesting looking at the framed documentation hanging on the walls while enjoying a drink.

The pool was in the courtyard and was quite clean and maintained.

Didn't have much interaction with the hotel staff, but the parking valet gave some tips on where the locals prefer to spend their evenings (places other than Bourbon St.) which were very helpful. Got to see a great street musical performance because of it.

The breakfast was great. One thing that stood out to me was that they had actual silverware and china! Most hotel breakfasts are plastic utensils and styrofoam.

We would stay here again on future trips to NOLA. The price was competitive with the higher-end hotel chains located on nearby Canal St.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slalom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

hotel was recommended by friend and was perfect for us. wall thru wall noise was non existant, hallway noise minimal (always going to be some jerks partying down halls and slamming doors until they settle in), location to all was super, bourbon, street cars, decatur. pool area was small and old and more of an outdoor smoker's area. but we were not there for the pool anyway. mae bailey's was dark and dismal but not there to hang there either. breakfast area outside mae's was excellent, and evrything fresh and well stocked. all the staff were friendly and helpful. they told us room would face a brick wall and they had nothing else, bud the next day they would change if we wanted ( we decided not to, but it was offered). the room overlooked someone's private old as can be built in pool and they were at times kind of noisy down there, but put tv on to block that out. great for the $ and would stay again!

Room Tip: dont take the one overlooking residential old pool like we had. not sure what others offer.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,426 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 165 in New Orleans
1,918 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 165 in New Orleans
529 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 165 in New Orleans
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $141 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing