We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dauphine Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
“Dauphine Street”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Amazing, sweet hotel. would go back to NOLA just to stay there. And best bookstore in the world is right across the street.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking Dauphine street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,495
    1,114
    296
    111
    55
See reviews for
581
1,356
89
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We can't say enough positive things about the Dauphine Orleans Hotel and staff! Location was excellent. Parked the car when we arrived and never used it till we left. Our parking was included in the price of our room(negotiated when we booked it). The breakfast was included(and it was great) along w free WiFi. We were in the heart of the French Quarter but never heard a sound. The bed was BIG and VERY comfortable. Our room was HUGE w frig-wet bar-couch-table. The staff was professional, courteous,knowledgeable and very friendly. It was our first trip to NOLA and it was the perfect vacation. Beautiful memories--have already recommended this hotel to friends and would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Negotiate your parking when booking your room. Ours was included
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the French Quarter. Once you park your car there is no reason to need it again unless you want to venture outside the city. Walk around the block and you are in the heart of Bourbon St. The Canal Street and St. Charles trolleys are just a few blocks away and if you are energetic you can walk to Harrah's and the riverfront.

Rooms and the bathroom are beautifully appointed, although small. This is a very old building so I expected this. We had an interior room on the third floor so there was no issue with noise. We weren't there on a weekend or Mardi Gras but it seemed that most of the street noise stayed contained on Bourbon St.

In an attached building, the hotel's bar (called May Bailey's) seemed to have retained its decor when it was a brothel back in the old days. It was interesting looking at the framed documentation hanging on the walls while enjoying a drink.

The pool was in the courtyard and was quite clean and maintained.

Didn't have much interaction with the hotel staff, but the parking valet gave some tips on where the locals prefer to spend their evenings (places other than Bourbon St.) which were very helpful. Got to see a great street musical performance because of it.

The breakfast was great. One thing that stood out to me was that they had actual silverware and china! Most hotel breakfasts are plastic utensils and styrofoam.

We would stay here again on future trips to NOLA. The price was competitive with the higher-end hotel chains located on nearby Canal St.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slalom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

hotel was recommended by friend and was perfect for us. wall thru wall noise was non existant, hallway noise minimal (always going to be some jerks partying down halls and slamming doors until they settle in), location to all was super, bourbon, street cars, decatur. pool area was small and old and more of an outdoor smoker's area. but we were not there for the pool anyway. mae bailey's was dark and dismal but not there to hang there either. breakfast area outside mae's was excellent, and evrything fresh and well stocked. all the staff were friendly and helpful. they told us room would face a brick wall and they had nothing else, bud the next day they would change if we wanted ( we decided not to, but it was offered). the room overlooked someone's private old as can be built in pool and they were at times kind of noisy down there, but put tv on to block that out. great for the $ and would stay again!

Room Tip: dont take the one overlooking residential old pool like we had. not sure what others offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, TX
Level Contributor
236 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I rated this 4 based on location and friendliness of staff. Room was a litte rundown and we had mold on the ceiling next to the air conditioner. We booked a room with 2 double beds but it only had enough towels for 3 people. That makes no sense. What you pay for here is the location. Staff was very friendly at the front desk and the bellman was excellent. They offer valet parking at the hotel so your car is not housed offsite. While you do have to pay for parking that is the norm in most big cities that I have stayed at. While I don't neccessarily agree with that it is what most hotels seem to be doing lately.

Room Tip: You are in easy walking distance to everything on Bourbon stree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serwin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

In April 2012 I had my destination wedding in New Orleans. The hotel was recommended by my venue which was around the corner. Right in the middle of the French Quarter. I had a wonderful stay there, there were many positives but the main ones were the friendly staff, clean and maintained rooms, and the prompt service that kept me satisfied. The highlight was the free continental breakfast and the quiet pool side that gave us the balance of the energy of NOLA and the tranquility of being on vacation. I am going back there and would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling.

Room Tip: Deluxe will give you view of the balcony and the standard room doesn't, just figure out whats im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Loved everything about the hotel. Beautiful, charming, sparkling clean. Staff was terrific.
Sarah, the bartender at Mae Bailey's gave us great ideas for restaurants.
Very quiet in spite of it's proximity to Bourbon St.
Perfect location. We walked everywhere and enjoyed the sights.
Plan on returning next year with family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,123 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,400 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing