We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #47 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed at the Dauphine for 3 nights on my very first visit to NOLA. I was very impressed with almost every aspect of the hotel for the price I paid. The hotel is literally only a block away from Bourbon, yet quiet enough that you wouldn't even realize that fact in the evenings. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but this is to be expected for a boutique French Quarter hotel. The memory foam bed was heavenly! I would have liked to have had a small fridge for drinks and such, but it wasn't all that big of a deal. We were offered complimentary drink tickets and breakfast upon arrival, but unfortunately we never took advantage of them so I can't comment on the quality other than saying that I think it was amazing that they were included in the nightly rate. There is a parking garage in the hotel which costs $30/day. Seemed outrageous to me, but they can get away with it because parking space is at a premium in the FQ. Be sure to clarify with the front desk though what constitues a full day though! We arrived at 7pm and were told by the valet that we wouldn't be charged for that day, but ended up being charged at checkout for the full day. After some haggling with the front desk they finally reversed the charges. The hotel has a small saltwater pool onsite and a hot tub which can be accessed across the street at the Dauphine guest house courtyard using your room key. We really enjoyed grabbing drinks off Bourbon and bringing them back to the hotub on the chilly December nights! The hotel is really in an excellent location for walking the FQ. It is only a short walk to almost all the hotspots. (i.e. Cafe du Monde, French Market, St. Louis Cathedral). I was really pleased with my stay at the Dauphine, and would absolutely stay here again on my next visit to NOLA!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garage courtyard can get noisy on weekends when late night revelers return from Bou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjskt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,961 - 2,967 of 3,522 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Dauphine is just great! We had rooms on the 4th floor facing the parking garage and they were extremely quiet. The memory foam bed was very comfortable and the room was immaculately clean. Missed the convenience of a mini-fridge, but no big deal. They even give you free water, which I have never seen in a New Orleans hotel before. The salt water pool would be great in the summer. The fitness room was adequate and the complimentary breakfast as well(on the order of La Quinta-boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, waffles, sausage, plenty of coffee and hot water for tea, juice.) The best thing about this charming place is the location. Two blocks to the Ritz Carlton and the Davenport Lounge, which is then right across from the Roosevelt and the Sazerac Bar, and close to everything in the Quarter. The little restaurant right down the street called Vacherie is great as is EAT-see my review. The $30 parking fee is ridiculous, but less than some places in NO-the attendants are super friendly and get your car quickly. The funny thing is that they did not know where anything was located, just kept telling us to get a cab-but we had a car! Luckily we had maps. The front desk folks were very nice, even calling after check-in to see if the room was ok. They also give you drink coupons for wine and beer in the onsite bar. For $120 per night this place is a steal and my new favorite!

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room-they are happy to oblige!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LATaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My sister and I stayed three nights at this property. Our room was spacious and very clean, not something you often find the French Quarter. Bathroom was a bit small and lacked counter space, but it made up for that with a great shower. You could hear your neighbors through the walls - we're guessing due to the age of the building - but we're from a metropolitan area, so we didn't mind a little nosie. The staff were always friendly and helpful, especially Cynthia at the front desk. We spent some time at May Bailey's, the bar next to the hotel. Small, quiet, and laid-back, though you will smell like smoke afterward. (But that's true for most bars in the French Quarter) Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would both stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwayssneezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this non-smoking hotel - the rooms were delightful without a hint of smoke smell. People could smoke in the pool area and the bar, however, these weren't issues for us.

We were checked in smoothly by very friendly staff, breakfast was substantial with many choices in a pleasant breakfast room - real cutlery and crockery.

The location was great because the French Quarter can be quite hectic and noisy late into the night / am hours, so Dauphine is an oasis away from all of that. We had free wifi in our room but also there was a computer in the lobby if you are not carrying your laptop; including a printer which was very useful for us.

Room Tip: try to get a room towards the back, not facing the street or facing over the undercover carpark, (so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

For the price, this is a very good hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's in a great location (although I'd prefer to stay on the south side of Bourbon street). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The front-desk staff are polite and helpful. And I appreciated the complimentary drink at the bar next door. On the down-side, the bed linens need upgrading and the rooms are fairly small.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wiestq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I'm rating this a five because of it's location, free breakfast, and the fridge in the room! Yeah! It's a perfect block behind the center of Bourbon Street and the rates on the rooms are really good compared to other places in the area. It's a really cool place to stay and the rooms have refridgerators in them so you can buy beer or keep your leftovers if you stay here. It was a really nice feature to have for a room in the French Quarter. Everyone was really nice and helpful. It's an easy, safe, and quick walk to the SuperDome. Just follow Dauphine to Pyorouns Street and you'll be right there. My tips for staying here are this: Be aware of the loud street noise if you book a room in the main house with a balcony. It is not noisy. It's super noisy so be aware of that in case you are a light sleeper. The balcony won't outweight the noise. They don't have cots so make sure that you don't try to overload your room with guests and hope for a roll-a-way cot. They don't have them. Aside from that, this is the perfect place to stay and you'll be happy with it. You can find cleaner, newer, and more expensive places but like I say in all of my hotel reviews, it's location, location, location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darryl370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The good: As stated by others the location is very good - in the quarter and walking distance to all the interesting sights. We stayed in the Hermann house recommended for being quieter which they were. A nice private courtyard to sit in if you are so inclined. Other complaints here about the quality of the free breakfast but it seemed average to above average for these type of breakfasts.

The mediocre: While the Hermann house room was interesting architecturally - old restored building - it had a well used feel to it and was somewhat outdated stylistically - especially the bathroom - cracks in the jetted tub and a beat up toilet. Why do people ever want a jetted tub in a hotel unless you know they have some super-sanitization process for it?

Room Tip: If you stay in the Hermann House - there is one room with a balcony that looks out on the street - p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,500 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,379 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $134 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing