We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I told the front desk staff I would write my version of my stay at this hotel, as I had read so many "unflattering" reviews. I even created a post on TA I was so worried about my choice.

Well, the hotel seems to have put away all the electrical wires, buckets, falling tiles....I saw NO evidence of that anywhere.

This is an old building which bring along a few idiocrincies. We were on the 4th floor and had to flush the toilet twice at a time. Didn't ruin my trip!

The beds are comfy...my only complaint was that I did not get the balcony room as requested. Was traveling with hubby and my Mom and didn't want to make a big deal out of it. Our view was of the pool which was just fine...

The breakfast was great and the staff who runs it are wonderful. You get a few welcome drink next door at May Baleys (sp?). Yeah!

Loved our stay and don't worry about this hotel (at least from my point of view).

  • Liked — Location and staff!
  • Disliked — The A/C wasn't strong enough until last day...
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    1,085
    287
    106
    55
See reviews for
561
1,314
85
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

If you want to stay in a quiet place, yet still be in the middle of everything (and only a block away from Bourbon), I highly recommend the Dauphine Orleans. When we arrived, we were pleasantly suprised to find out that we had been upgraded to a jacuzzi suite (I had requested a courtyard king).

When we got to our room, I was impressed with how nice it was. The suite had a very comfortable king-size memory foam mattress. The jacuzzi room had a lighted vanity--perfect for getting ready for nighttime activities. The actual bathroom was not so nice--it could have been cleaner but then again the building is very old. I will say the maid service was pretty spotty, and I had to steal some toilet paper from the maid cart since they never gave us any refills.

I had one, well two, major complaints about this hotel. 1) Cold showers. The hot water heater did not do its job. It was hard to enjoy the tepid temperature of the jacuzzi, and every morning I had to face the prospect of a cold shower. I complained numerous times at the front desk, yet nothing was ever done. 2) The chain inside the toilet broke, and we asked them to fix that as well. Again, nothing was done and we had to rig it with a staple out of a matchbook.

Overall, I would recommend the Dauphine Orleans because it is a good value. If you are lucky, you won't have any problems, and you'll be glad you stayed. Would I stay there again? Well, the Hotel Monteleone is a just few blocks away and it's right next to Dickie Brennan's Steakhouse. Plus, they have a rotating bar.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The cold showers
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SushiMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

my husband and i were looking for a hotel that would make us feel at home, relaxed and not rushed. This was the hotel. They served a great breakfast each morning. The housekeeping staff was very friendly. Our check in and check out was very relaxed and not hurried as in some hotels with the check out deadline. Everyone on the housekeeping staff was absolutely great!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank furtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, LA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We just returned from a weekend getaway to New Orleans. We chose the Dauphine Orleans Hotel. We had stayed there before Hurricane Katrina in a beautiful, newly decorated new room.

After being told there would be no refunds...We arrived to a lobby with ceiling tiles falling down, extension cords for box fans wired through the air conditioner vents, dirty room with blotched ceilings that were poorly patched, dirty floor in bathroom, ice bucket not emptied, coffee not supplied and poor air conditioning.

Upon speaking with other guests, we found a couple that had changed rooms twice in one stay due to faulty air conditioning.

I understand what New Orleans went through for the hurricane, however, if a hotel is not prepared to open completely renovated they should not open at all. This gives a poor idea of progress being made in New Orleans, which is not fair because many establishments have been successful.

We will return to our beloved New Orleans, but not the Dauphine Orleans.

  • Liked — They had a great mattress on the bed
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CajunTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

The hotel is in an ideal location, a few walking blocks from Bourbon St, just away enough from the action to have a good night's sleep. The lobby is small yet welcoming, and staff was very friendly. Bell hop went out of his way to have a taxi wait for us that was scheduled to take us back to the airport.
The room we had faced a brick wall, so there was no sunlight at all. Unfortunately there were no other rooms available that weekend to upgrade to.
The room itself was very small but it suited our needs, which was basically to have a clean place to relax and to sleep. I would probably stay in a nicer hotel next time, but for the price it was okay.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — old looking bathroom, view
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Judarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Located on Dauphine Street, one block above and parallel to the swingning Bourbon Street, the Dauphine Orleans is a lovely hotel in a great location. It was also quite a bargain as part of an air/hotel package.

The management was also extremely accomodating, as we were traveling with a baby and had certain requests--like a refrigerator and a room that didn't face the street. To our delight and deep appreciation, this resulted in a room upgrade at no extra cost. The put us in the annex across the street, where rooms faced a serene courtyard.

Our room contained a sprawling king-size bed beneath a high ceiling featuring exposed beams, surrounded by gorgeous, rich red brick. The bed had a very comfortable foam-top mattress and several feather pillows.

he bathroom featured more marble, the tub had jets (we didn't use the jets, but they were a nice option), and the shower was a two-headed monster that blasted water with authority.

The only thing that was wrong with the room was the closet door, which was off the hinges--a little dangerous for our curious toddler. Also would love WiFi, but that will probably come.

Overall, our experience at Dauphine Orleans was pleasant and relaxing--just what you'd need from days spent discovering the wonderful neighborhoods of New Orleans.

  • Liked — Location, value, charming room and accomodating management
  • Disliked — Just the broken closet door
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geddon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

TURN-ONS: Price (fantastic deal w/airfare on Travelocity), location (quiet, safe area one block from Bourbon Street), fairly large clean room w/partial view, comfortable beds (TempurPedic but not the foam type - these were still very comfy), beautiful marble bathroom, good (free) continental breakfast, robes, complimentary champagne for our wedding anniversary (a very nice touch), the shower water is filtered, beautiful bar (May Baily's) w/great bartender and free drink coupon given at check-in, hot tub available across the street.

TURN-OFFS: Tiny lobby, small pool (normal for FQ hotels), small courtyards, has a FQ "vibe" but everything looks worn out and shabby rather than authentic FQ patina, one day our room wasn't cleaned; although supervised by a valet attendant, the elevators to rooms are located in the parking garage open to the street (possible security hazard although we experienced no problems), our air conditioner dripped onto our carpet (not a biggie though), no exhaust fan or circulation in the bathroom, the room had only one painting and a mirror in the living space - a couple more art pieces would dramatically improve the look and feel. We had to call the desk to find out how to turn on the shower.

When we stay in the FQ, we expect a FQ hotel to have that FQ feel and patina. We enjoyed our stay at the Dauphine Orleans but it was definitely several steps down from the Maison Dupuy (our favorite.) Considering the great deal we found w/airfare from Travelocity, it was well worth the few shortcoming of the hotel. Would we recommend the Dauphine Orleans? Sure, as long as one understands that this is an old historic FQ hotel and that it (like all others) has some shortcomings.

  • Liked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fotodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,230 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
2,958 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
1,410 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Property: Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing