We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Place for our Engagement Celebration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place for our Engagement Celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at the Cornstalk for one night to celebrate our engagement. The owner Louis was super nice, and actually upgraded us to a better room (no charge) since it was a special occasion! The room was beautiful, although our original room downstairs was just as beautiful. It was so pretty, and I was so glad we didn't stay at a conventional hotel in New Orleans (which I never have a good experience with). Everything seemed to be recently updated, and everything in the bathroom seemed fresh and brand new. The bed was super comfy as well. And right after we got to our room Louis knocked on the door and served us a pitcher of ice water and asked if we needed anything else.

We were in decent walking distance from everything, as we walked to Nola for dinner that night and Cafe du Monde for breakfast the next morning. We came back to the Cornstalk and ate our Beignets on the cute little patio off the upstairs hallway. The location was especially nice because we were that close and yet I didn't hear a sound all night and slept like a baby.

The Cornstalk must be a big deal, because all of the carriage tours people were taking would stop in front of the building to take pictures of it. So we felt pretty important :)

I highly recommend the Cornstalk due to the friendly staff (as Louis and the maid service were all personal and greeted us with a smile every time), cute rooms, and classic charm.

P.S. I think the negative reviews below were before the current staff took over, which explains a lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kns1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    142
    27
    16
    11
See reviews for
59
259
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The Cornstalk is located in the French Quarter about a block from Jackson Square. It's location and architecture really sell the place and helps make an authentic New Orleans experience. There are more updated, larger hotels available for those who want a more "airport hotel" feel.

The manager was very friendly and helpful. We hadn't realized how much we missed the personal touch of New Orleans, having stayed the last couple of times at a larger hotel. Given this level of service the Cornstalk comes across as more of a bed and breakfast (without the breakfast).

My wife and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74ghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I used to visit New Orleans and would walk by the Cornstalk.
When I found out my husband and I would be returning to the city, I insisted that we stay there. We were greeted by an individual who should not represent any hotel. We lugged our own bags upstairs (no valet, no elevator) to our room and were in SHOCK at the horrific room. Our sheets looked dirty and actually had a cigarette hole burn, the drapes would not close, leaving our bed the focal point of the buildings situated across from us. The bathroom was disgusting. I could go on...
We had reservations for 2 nights and after 5 minutes of discussion as to how awful it was, we went back to the "manager" and told him we were leaving - and why. He acted surprised - and said we would have to pay for the first night and he would not charge us for the second night. It was worth every dime to get out of there.
We called a cab and ran screaming from the building. Nightmare.
Worst hotel experience ever. Do not stay here.

  • Liked — The fence
  • Disliked — It was dirty
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank getupandgonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisd5, General Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
The Cornstalk Hotel has undergone an extensive remodeling and refurbishment which has resulted in correcting many of the issues which concerned previous guests. The Hotel reopened in April of 2009 after all work was completed. The hotel is now under new management which puts excellent customer service as its' primary objective. The Cornstalk Hotel welcomes all comments as a way of improving the hotel and its' services to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

I won't return until the Cornstalk has some extremely needed cleaning and updating.
The outside looks great,but the housekeeper can only do some much with what she's been given on the inside.
The bed was comfortable enough if you like soft mattresses,the sheets need to be replaced they're so old and dingy looking I smelled them to see if they were clean and the blankets need a good wash or replacing,
Flat (polyester)pillows.
The ceilings are high so the dust is visible throughout the tops of all the draperies and four poster beds
The carpets are so stained I couldn't really tell what color they were.
Shower what shower? The low flow shower head feels as if your showering with a squirt gun.
I didn't mind the small room and I would pay more with such a great location and staying in such a historic home in the French Quarter.
We had 2 rooms with friends or ours.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

This is a great place to stay in the Quarter. We had a small room, but were only there to sleep and shower. The manager was very helpful in giving us suggestions and directions. It's close to everything, but quiet.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Buferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

The Cornstalk provided our group a wonderful home base for our trip. If you are looking for spa-like space or a high-end chain hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a fun, comfortable, special, safe, friendly, home-like stay for a good price in a great location - the Cornstalk is perfect.

We had 6 rooms for a long weekend trip with friends. I was in 102 and highly recommend this "Tower Princess". The balcony and porch offer a great spot to relax and a great place to meet other travelers to this amazing city. The location of Cornstalk couldn't be better. Just off the Bourbon craziness and near great shops and restaurants. The staff is always friendly, welcoming and accomodating.

  • Liked — location, charm, value, staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Stolitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Affordable, great location, would highly recommend. My bachlorette party stayed at the Cornstalk and it was wonderful. A small, elegant, historic hotel but the bathrooms have been recently renovated (new tubs and showers) so all the girls were happy. Friendly and helpful staff made us very comfortable. Homey feeling. The hotel and the French Quarter ... so much fun !

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,238 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,104 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,169 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,822 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Property: Cornstalk Hotel
Address: 915 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing