We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely French charm”
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #29 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My sister and I had a girls week-end and stayed at the Cornstalk. The location is perfect; right on beautiful Royal Street. The hotel is rich with history. It has been redecorated with exquisite taste.
Although there is no room service with regards to food. Right out the front door is an excellent cafe prices very reasonably. Will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martygilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Hi martygilligan,

I’m so glad to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us. Y’all were such great guests and I hope that you enjoyed staying here as much as we enjoyed hosting you! It’s always so great having guests that appreciate the rich history and authentic decorations of the hotel. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Take care,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Cornstalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 582 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

Greatly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location could not be beat. It was fun sitting on the balcony listening to the carriage tour guides tell their folks the history of the hotel while we looked down upon them regally. Would definitely stay again, even without the 20% discount offered to repeat guests.

Room Tip: Choose room with easy access to second floor balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gspanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Hello gspanos,

Thank you so much for choosing The Cornstalk Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. It’s always so great to hear such positive feedback and I’m sincerely happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here and we can’t wait to see you back at The Cornstalk again!

Come back soon!

Best wishes,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We felt very at home at the Cornstalk. It's a convenient place to stay if one does not want to worry about a car and parking and driving. We walked and took public transportation everywhere. New Orleans is so like a European city in this way - walking is so good for one's health and especially after all the delicious food we were served (both fine dining and casual dining). The balcony is a great place to sit and listen to the street musicians and watch the world go by. Next time we will get a bigger room than #10, although it was well-appointed and more than adequate for our needs, it would have been better to have a chair to read in or a small table to eat and drink from if one does not want to use the balcony. We did have some fun ghost visitations and I got some very interesting pictures of orbs and mists once I saw we had other worldly company. We came for the Jazz festival but got so much more than that. We love the city, the food and most of all, the people, both past and present.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor since it opens out to the balcony
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Greetings V Susan B,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was such a pleasure having y’all stay with us. I especially enjoyed looking through all the photos where you captured ghostly specters, (even though some of them definitely gave me the chills)!

I think our resident ghosts miss you, since they’ve been unusually quiet since y’all left town.
The Cornstalk staff and the Cornstalk spirits all hope that you’ll come back and stay with us again soon!

All the best,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Cornstalk Hotel is centrally located in the middle of everything and only one block from Bourbon Street. We were able to walk everywhere during our stay. The staff are so friendly and helpful. If you forget anything, they will do their best to accommodate your every need. We loved it so much we booked another stay there before we left. It's a beautiful New Orleans landmark with historical charm and modern convenience.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms share a balcony so it's better to get an interior room if you want a quieter s...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angelbrowntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hi angelbrowntn,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us on your recent trip to New Orleans. Our number one priority is guest satisfaction so you can imagine how happy we are to hear that you booked a future stay with us also. We can’t wait to see y’all back here next time!

Best wishes,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My sister and I really enjoyed staying in this older, but very well maintained French Quarter hotel. We wanted something authentic, and we got it. Luxurious antique decor, very comfortable bed, and best of all, a balcony where we could hang out and listen to street musicians and watch the horse-drawn carriages go by, as well as a courtyard area in front of the hotel. Man, did we feel privileged to be able to go IN, as opposed to just looking at the unique structure from the street! Sure, it's a little pricier to stay right in the Quarter, but we felt it was worth it being able to walk everywhere. The location is absolutely perfect - a comfy stroll to Cafe du Monde a few blocks away, and only a block away from Bourbon Street, minus all the noise. And the staff were super friendly and accommodating. This one is on the list for a repeat visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello Tania B,

Thank you choosing the Cornstalk Hotel for your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review!

I’m very glad to hear that you were so pleased with the hotel. The balcony certainly is a great place to relax and people watch. If you spend just 5 minutes on the balcony or porch I guarantee that you’ll be in dozens of photos from the people that stop outside the hotel. It’s enough to make anyone feel like a celebrity!

We pride ourselves on our great customer service and Southern hospitality so I’m especially happy to hear that you thought our staff was friendly and accommodating.

We can’t wait to see you and your sister back here again!

All the best,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We found this sweet hotel while traveling on our honeymoon, and were so glad we chose The Cornstalk Hotel. It's in a great location, in the heart of the French Quarter and within walking distance to anywhere you'd want to go. The hotel is beautiful and quaint, very clean and peaceful, and a nice contrast to larger corporate-feeling hotels. The staff and management could not have been more friendly and efficient, and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and activities off the beaten path. We are already planning to come back again for our anniversary in a few years!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelynckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello Jocelynckh

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip. I’m honored that you chose us for part of your honeymoon stay!

There’s nothing more gratifying for our staff than receiving positive feedback from our guests, especially when we hear that they enjoyed our recommendations!

Can’t wait to see y’all back here for your anniversary!

Best Wishes,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

First the good
1. The staff were amazing. Exceptionally courteous and accommodating.
2. Locked and gated bike parking....I can not put enough emphasis on how great it is to bike the French Quarter!
3. The rooms are beautiful and spacious.
4. Comfortable beds with lots of pillows!
5. Location, location, location...one block from the quieter side of Bourbon.

Could be better
1. No on site parking to speak of. Valet service is offered at 38.00 a day whether you request your car or not. On the plus side, secure parking is free at Harrah's Casino if you play 30 minutes a day. (Penny slots cost about 2-3 dollars for 30 minutes....possibly less if you win). Harrah's is a little over a mile away, so it's a bit of a hike on foot.

The not so good:
1. As previously mentioned...NO COFFEE. Community Coffee is 1 block away, but it is not fun at all to wake up in the morning and have to get dressed and slog 1 block in the rain for a cup of over-priced coffee. No good! (This one more than anything cost them the 5th star.)
2. AVOID ROOM 102 if you value sleep!!!!!!!!!!! This room seems to funnel street noise. I swear we could here a mouse fart from across the street. It was like we had every person outside the Hotel in our room with us all night. Moved to room 105 the next night and it was shear bliss!

All in all, this is a great place to stay. The staff are absolutely wonderful and the location is stellar. If you don't drink coffee and avoid room 102, then this is 5 stars all the way!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the house are quieter and 1st floor rooms are larger I think. 105 is AMAZI...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello joe p

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you were especially pleased with the staff, location, and beauty of the hotel! Our staff’s customer service is definitely one of the qualities that we pride ourselves on the most. And our location in the heart of the French Quarter can’t be beat. As you mention, anywhere that’s too far to walk is perfect for a bike ride!

The rooms at the front of the hotel do sometimes allow for a little bit of street noise. I’m so glad that we were able to switch you to room 105 so that y’all could get some rest.

As you may have heard we have recently come under new management and we’re starting to introduce some changes to the hotel (including the valet parking). We’re always glad to hear input from guests on how we can improve. The coffee in the morning is definitely something that our management team will consider for the future.

Once again thanks so much and we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#57 of 165 in New Orleans
589 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 165 in New Orleans
2,285 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 165 in New Orleans
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#13 of 165 in New Orleans
625 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#32 of 165 in New Orleans
437 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $151 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing