We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite Place to Stay”
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Wonderful place to stay...have seen the hotel on many of our trips to New Orleans and this year for my birthday we decided to stay there...loved it!!! Lovely staff..close to everything...new valet parking(was concerned when I had read previous reviews but pleased they added that). The victorian charm and slow and easy flow of he hotel made our stay sweet and special. Loved the balconly and front porch for people watching...best 4 days I have ever had in the Big Easy. Can't wait for next year...save us a room!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello Lu W,

I’m so glad that you chose to stay with us on your recent trip to New Orleans and I’m overjoyed to hear that you had an excellent time. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, especially on the valet parking which is a new feature.

We’ll definitely save you a room for next time. Can’t wait to have y’all back!

All the best,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 587 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

I haven't been to New Orleans in a while. My friend referred me to the Cornstalk and it was truly a gem ! The location was key being I didn't have transportation. I slept like a baby every night in the very comfy bed. I felt at home every day of my stay. The staff was truly amazing ! This will be my home away from home for ever.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello Michael M,

I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it.

Can’t wait to see you back here again!

Best Regards,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We used the Cornstalk Hotel as our hotel for our wedding weekend in New Orleans and let our guests know that we would be staying there. It was perfect! It is an excellent location in the Quarter that is central to everything yet not crazy so you can sleep at night. The hotel itself is beautiful and full of charm. We got to see a lot of the rooms since we had several guests staying at the hotel and each room was unique and really comfortable. THE STAFF was incredibly accommodating and friendly to us, and we made friends with several of the other guests staying at the hotel.

The only negatives, much of the furniture is antique, so it can be a bit creaky and difficult to work with. But I guess that is part of the authenticity, right? Anyways, the hotel is beautiful, historic, and reasonably priced for the location! Highly recommended compared to a more corporate hotel.

Room Tip: There's a couple of the rooms that are quite tiny, but most are really generous on size. Call t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPG910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello MPG910

We’re so honored that you chose the Cornstalk Hotel for your wedding weekend. It was such a joy having you and your guests staying here and we can’t wait to have y’all back!

We definitely try to stay true to the historic style of the hotel to give each guest a unique experience. Most of the furniture in our guest rooms are antique pieces and some of them don’t quite have the ease of modern furniture. But, like you say, it’s all part of the authenticity of staying in a historic hotel!

We’d love to see y’all back here for your 1 year wedding anniversary!

Best wishes,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The only thing better than the location and the hotel itself was the friendliness of the staff. You are a short walk to anything in the quarter, and we had a great time sitting on the balcony enjoying the street music and views.

Our room was street side and did get a bit loud at night. Of course, we were in the middle of the French Quarter, so we expected some of that.

The hotel itself is awesome. We asked the staff about its's history and they pulled up some neat photos online. Our room was small, but had enough room for us. I read some complaints about the lack ofno irons in the room, or coffee in the hotel. The hotel is small enough that you walk down the hallway to get one from the desk, and I enjoyed the short walk to the coffee shop, while my wife got ready for our day. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms near the street will be louder than those in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi Wagon1,

I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The Cornstalk Hotel does have such a long and colorful history and we’re grateful to have both guests and staff that are so interested in it. Plus when you sit up on the balcony you can hear even more history from all the carriage tours that stop out front.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we can’t wait to have you back!

Warm Regards,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We've just left a 3 night stay in New Orleans. This hotel is very old and beautiful. I will say that it could use a few modern updates. I wished the rooms could come with an optional fan. However , what the hotel lacked the staff made up for !!! Best staff ! Hands down !!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank kschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello kschultz,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you were impressed with our staff. Customer service and guest satisfaction is our number one priority so it’s good to hear that our employees are living up to our expectations!

As you probably have heard, The Cornstalk Hotel has recently come under a new management company. While we definitely will be keeping the atmosphere and style of the hotel the same we will be doing some updates which include adding some more modern amenities.We’d love to have you and your friends back at the hotel so you can see all the changes we've made here.

Once again thank you for choosing The Cornstalk Hotel. It was our pleasure serving you!

Sincerely,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Beautiful, historic house. The most friendly and helpful staff--manager to housekeeping--of any place we have ever stayed. We felt like family there. Our room was on the second floor, at the back. Very small, but we knew that when we booked. It was comfortable and quiet, even though it was during Mardi Gras when we were here. We parked here, for a reasonable fee, and it was nice having the car right outside. No in and out, but the location is so perfect that there was no need to drive anywhere. The bathroom was small, but OK. Only complaint of the whole stay was that the water pressure was not very good.
We would definitely stay here again (can't make a higher reccomendation than that). Only difference is, when we come back, we will choose one of the larger rooms. We had an oportunity to peek into some of the other rooms, and they were beautiful.
The Hotel is under new management, and Susie and the rest of the staff are working very hard to make this a great place to stay. They are succeeding, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy_and_Peggy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hi Roy_and_Peggy2014

I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you’d stay here again! Hearing that guest’s would come back again is really some of the highest praise we can get. One of the great things about The Cornstalk is that it’s a peaceful haven in the midst of the craziness of the French Quarter. Like you mention, even during Mardi Gras once you step into the hotel you aren’t disturbed by what’s happening outside.

It’s so gratifying to hear that you’re appreciative of the new management at The Cornstalk Hotel. Our number one goal is to make the guests happy and getting positive feedback like this just makes my day!

I can’t stress enough how much we appreciate you choosing The Cornstalk Hotel for your stay in New Orleans and for taking the time to write this review. You are truly a valued guest at The Cornstalk Hotel and we can’t wait to see you again!


Warm Regards,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This place is the epitome of New Orleans atmosphere. We go to NOLA often but this is the first time we have stayed at the Cornstalk. It won't be the last. All the charm and elegance you would expect from old world New Orleans. Close to everything but quite enough to sit on the spacious front porch and just "people watch". Can't wait till the next time.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi Mike F

I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed The Cornstalk Hotel and its unique Nola charm! I speak for the whole staff when I say that it was an absolute pleasure having y’all here. There really isn’t anything better than sitting on the front porch on a nice day and taking in the French Quarter atmosphere. If you ignore the cars going past you really start to feel like you’ve been transported to the nineteenth century!

We can’t wait to see you back here!

All the best,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#54 of 167 in New Orleans
600 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 167 in New Orleans
2,298 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 167 in New Orleans
629 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#40 of 167 in New Orleans
447 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#43 of 167 in New Orleans
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $191 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing