We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Comfortable in the Heart of the French Quarter”
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #32 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Staying at The Cornstalk (Fence) Hotel, located on the elegant Royal Street, in the Heart of the French Quarter, guarantees an authentic New Orleans experience. Not only is the facade beautiful, and of course, the famous cornstalk wrought iron fence out front, but every space within this charming hotel oozes elegance and comfort. The high ceilings, luxurious fabrics and sparkling chandeliers make you feel gloriously pampered. One of the nicest features of the hotel is the inviting second story balcony which overlooks Royal Street, where you can relax, take it all in, and of course people-watch. There is also an equally lovely front porch where you can do the same. The guest rooms and bathrooms are beautifully appointed and have been recently (and very thoughtfully) updated.  The staff was wonderful to my family of four which included my two children. Actually, the manager, Paul, knocked on our door moments after we arrived and upgraded our room (we hadn't even asked!) to a much more spacious room for a family of four (at no additional cost!) From the complimentary bottled water, to the on-site parking and the turndown service (which was such a nice treat after a late-night mardi gras parade) we appreciated every detail. (My 12 year old appreciated the wi-fi!) We will most definitely make the Cornstalk Hotel our home away from home whenever we visit NOLA. Thank you Paul and staff for your outstanding Southern hospitality.

Room Tip: The second floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sdale10583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 619 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Cornstalk during our trips to New Orleans for over 25 years, and it just keeps getting better and better! The personal service is beyond compare, and the location is outstanding for all French quarter activities and nearby concert and sports venues. We stay several times a year and have never been disapponted. It is like a home away from home, and all the management and staff are friendly, so personable and ready to help with every guest's needs. Highest recommendations for this small hotel, and kudos to the new management!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect location in the heart of the French Quarter. We would easily give it 5 stars if not for parking. $45/night to park in the drive by the house which is single lane and requires any other guests parked behind you to move their vehicle for you to get out. Options are to pay for parking at a garage but while cheaper, also has disadvantages. I would like to see the hotel add a few dollars to the room cost and provide a valet service with their driveway instead of charging a ridiculous amount and making the guests sort out the movement of vehicles.
Otherwise, a truly beautiful old home with lots of history. Retains the old world class but very comfortable. Reasonable walk to Jackson Square and all the major attractions. We will definitely be back!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JMarsolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had stayed 30 years before and loved it then. Upon our return, we still loved it. We were in an upper balcony room that faced the street. Our room had a round turret space that was beautiful, but had no curtains and the lights shone in all night. I was prepared with ear plugs and sleep mask, so it really was not a problem. The room didn't have reading lights by the bed, but I use a kindle so that didn't effect me either!
The charm, location, friendly staff and all the lovely hotel make for a great New Orleans experience!

Room Tip: It is located in a "party tourist" city, so take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper (for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The new managers had only been there two weeks when we checked in. They were wonderful and helpful in every way. It was great to to chat with them every day, asking how our stay was. Our room was beautifully decorated, but since it was at the front of the house, the curtains and blinds would not open to bring in any light, so the room was a bit dark and lighting was fairly dim. We mentioned it to Susie and she immediately brought in an additional lamp, which helped. I'm sure when all the changes are made--with coffee service, bigger TV's (much needed!), and new linens, etc.--this place will be perfect! Location: fabulous!!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms do not have their own thermostats so we had to ask for a space heater for additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We loved being right in the centre of the French Quarter. Royal Street is the perfect place to stay, right in the middle of things but not too hectic or loud. The hotel is charming and quaint and met my scrupulous standards in every way. It was clean, the beds were comfy, the sheets lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful. I would absolutely recommend a stay at The Cornstalk Hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 and 16, both were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Trixsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hello Trixsy

Thank you for choosing The Cornstalk Hotel for your recent stay. I’m thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and standards. You’ve touched on all the things that are our top priorities: charm, cleanliness, and great hospitality! I really hope to see you and your friends here again sometime!

All the best,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff were lovely and so helpful. The decor throughout the entire hotel is impeccable. Our room was nice and quiet and the bed was super comfortable! Suzy was working the desk and was such a pleasure. Definitely worth the stay if you are looking for something more exclusive but amongst all of the action.
My husband and I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Just don't stay in room 14 - it has the most paranormal activity. We were in room 16 across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nykayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Hi Nykayla

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate you taking the time share your experience staying at our hotel. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was such a pleasure having you here and Suzy especially enjoyed talking with you at the front desk.
We can’t wait to see you next time you come back and we’ll make sure to put you in a room far away from room #14!

Sincerely,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services

P.S. For any interested readers: Room #14 mentioned in this review has a history of paranormal activity. During this guest’s stay the TV kept turning on at full volume in the middle of the night even though the room was unoccupied…pretty spooky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,521 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,776 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#49 of 166 in New Orleans
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#33 of 166 in New Orleans
839 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,656 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $147 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing