We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #39 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Cornstalk was truly an experience of a lifetime on my first trip to New Orleans. We loved the homey feeling and the exceptional hospitality we recieved from Louis the hotel manager. He went above and beyond the call of duty by helping us find our wallet we had lost in the cab on our very first night, he saw how stressed out we were and brought us up a bottle of champagne! Your not gonna get that at the Marriott or the Hyatt. The hotel is perfectly located close enough to walk to Bourbon St but not to close where we could still enjoy peace and quiet when we wanted it. The housekeeper kept our room clean and helped with anything we needed. I cant wait to go back and visit, it was truly a wonderful vacation thanks to Louis.

Room Tip: the rooms vary in size, the smaller rooms are small but cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARKNDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    148
    28
    18
    13
See reviews for
62
276
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My first trip to NOLA--traveling with my husband and 3 month old son. I was a little worried because the French Quarter is not known for being kid-friendly. I was pleasantly surprised that our family was welcomed every place we went--especially the Cornstalk. The hotel manager went out of his way to be accommodating. I was also surprised by how large our room was (room 4)--the website and the manager warned us that the less expensive rooms were small. We had plenty of room for all our luggage and my son's pack n play. (The bathroom was very small and the plug in the tub didn't work so it was shower only). Our room faced the side ally, but as there was road construction on Royal street we were glad for the quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were very soft and cozy.
The one complaint about our stay was the $50 a day parking--but I understand that parking is at a premium in the Quarter and it would have been expensive anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catuilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My sisters and I just visited New Orleans and stayed at the beautiful Cornstalk Hotel. This was our first trip to New Orleans, and, since we would not have a car at our disposal, we wanted to stay at a convenient location – preferably in the French Quarter. After a little online searching, we found the fabulous Cornstalk Hotel, which met all of our requirements – convenient location in the French Quarter, adorableness (in terms of the building and the room itself), and amazing helpfulness from the staff (particularly our host, Louis, who was accommodating to the extreme, in terms of suggestions for things to do and checking on us each day to see that we had everything we needed). For our last evening, he even brought us a bottle of champagne to celebrate my younger sister’s birthday.

The Cornstalk Hotel is not only an historic landmark in the French Quarter; it is also conveniently located for seeing many of New Orleans’s famous venues. We ate at the Café Du Monde every morning (2 blocks), and we took the advice of Louis and visited nearby Frenchman Street, where we listened to fabulous New Orleans jazz music. Every evening we sat on the hotel’s gallery (available to all guests), and enjoyed watching the mule/buggy and ghost tours stop by the Cornstalk Hotel, listening in amusement as they regaled their clients with stories (and sometime myths) of the hotel’s history.

In short, I am unconditionally recommending The Cornstalk Hotel to anyone wishing to experience New Orleans in a way that someone who likes staying at the Marriott will never be able to appreciate. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our daughter was married in September, and we, along with many guests of the wedding, stayed at the Cornstalk Hotel. Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The hotel is located on one of the most beautiful streets in the French Quarter, and overall, it is simply charming! Louis, the manager, and Janet were so professional, but friendly, and were always there to help in any way. They could not have been kinder and more accommodating! Louis also has a wealth of information on hand - brochures on every kind of activity imagainable, restaurant information, tour information, etc. On the day of the wedding, I was naturally nervous, being the mother of the bride, and Janet would smile her terrific smile and ask if she could help wih anything! Louis was always available too. The hotel is absolutely beautiful.................a very special and lovely place to stay! Annie, from San Diego

Room Tip: Loved the Royal View Premier Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beavus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My entire family stayed at the Cornstalk the week of my wedding.. We got married right across the street, at Cafe Amelie -- so this was the perfect spot for us! The employees are so accommodating and each room is beautifully decorated. It felt like a home to us. There are big balconies, where you can relax and watch the people walking by on Royal Street.. And there is lot's of history to learn about the hotel. We will definitely return to the Cornstalk every time we're visiting the French Quarter!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a portion of our honeymoon. The house is spectacular. We spent a portion of our honeymoon in NOLA and we wanted to stay somewhere that wasn't a chain hotel. We found the cornstalk and the Louis the manager is very friendly. In fact, when he found out that we were honeymooning he upgraded us. The house is unbelievable... people are constantly stopping in front taking pictures. The interior is just as amazing.

The room was cozy (we stayed in the very front of the house on the first floor) and we just loved the room and its vaulted ceiling with a gold leaf chandelier. The bathroom was small, but who spends a lot of time in the bathroom in NOLA anyways? The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable. The hotel is in a GREAT location walking distance to everything in the French Quarter.

The only thing I would warn about was that the room was noisy being in the front (but to be fair Louis warned us of this.) I thought it added to the charm of staying in NOLA. If you are a light sleeper I would definitely suggest a room in the back of the house on the second floor or you'll be upset at the noise.

We loved this place and it was definitely a highlight to our stay in New Orleans.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper stay in the back of the house on the upper level. The first floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamaraLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I lived in NO in the early80's. And I worked the desk nights. I always thought it to be a beautiful. And I would always be very hospitable. Walking thru the cast iron gates and walking thru the door takes you back to the past.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieloutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,560 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Property: Cornstalk Hotel
Address: 915 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing