We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest Hotel I've ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicest Hotel I've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed there the last week off June. When we first saw our room we were shocked at how beautiful it is. Old school charm, high ceilings, beautiful chandelier and furniture. We loved it so much that we cancelled our reservations we had at Prince Conti hotel so we could spend more time at the Cornstalk.

Louis the manager is so helpful. Even before we arrived he emailed us lots of info about the best restos in town all categorized by food style. He booked and arranged all our tours as well.

I can't wait to go back to NOLA and definetely stay again at the Cornstalk!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleissia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    164
    31
    21
    13
See reviews for
68
313
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night before a wedding. We were drawn to it because of family history with the home and wanted to stay where our family had once owned back in the early 1800s. We stayed in room 11 upstairs which was a good size for wha we needed. Now we will start with the good. First is obviously the location which is only a couple blocks away from Jackson square and many of the places you would like to see and do. The room was ample for what we needed for our quick trip but might be a little small for a longer stay. It is quiet and a good atmosphere for a couples weekend. Louis the manager lives on site and is very helpful with things to do around the town but there is no staff available around the clock. Now the not so good. Some things seemed a little run down, I realize the house is old but old can be fixed up good without modernizing or taking away from the history. Some of the workmanship when it came to paint and wallpaper was lacking and took away from the look a little bit. The carpet in the room was thicker like you would find in a regular home which is nice for comfort but it was pretty dirty and felt sticky with bare feet. The porch and upper deck were nice places to enjoy the sites of everyone taking pictures of the hotel from the street and do a little people watching. Overall a good experience but some improvements could be made.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the front of house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank firemedic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Beautiful rooms, very comfortable. You don't see the staff much but they have these amazing printout of everything going on around town.

If you want a full service hotel, go somewhere else. No waters, food etc.

But the charm of this historical place is well worth it, and best location ever. Quiet, but close to everything.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms are good here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

First of all, it is advertised as a bed and breakfast..and they offer no breakfast!! It needs to be renewed, my closet in room 15 was broken, very little space to place things in the room, some windows can not be opened..... a bit dissapointed all together.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Folky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornstalkManager, General Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
We would like to sincerely apologize for any displeasure or discomfort that this guest received while they were staying at the Cornstalk Hotel. We appreciate their opinion and hope that we can use any criticism to improve our service.

The Cornstalk Hotel is advertised as a Boutique Hotel, not a Bed and Breakfast. The hotel is included in TripAdvisor’s B&B and Inns category but is classified as an inn, not a B&B. This is in keeping with how TripAdvisor categorizes smaller hotels. We have made recommendations for the creation of a Boutique Hotel category for smaller hotels like the Cornstalk, so that our description is as clear as possible to potential guests.

It is our goal to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible and that any complaints are dealt with right away. We were unaware that there was a problem with the guest’s closet door because the guest did not inform us of the situation until after their check-out. Rest assured, the door was fixed shortly after the hotel staff was notified that there was an issue.

We would like to assure any future guests that we appreciate all the reviews that we receive and that we use any criticisms given to improve our service and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giddings, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

stayed here on vacation with my daughter,april 2012. If u like old homes with lots of history then this is the place to stay. Each room is decorated driffrent and are so nice. Iwould stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We went in May 2011 for Jazz Fest. The price was reasonable and it's right in the French Quarter. The hotel itself is beautiful and well kept. Things to keep in mind though, when it gets VERY hot, the a/c may not be as cool as some people like it. It was fine to me since I don't like too much a/c, but it wasn't cool.

I'm glad we stayed here as opposed to some big chain hotel. I want to visit again and I would stay here.

We stayed in a room with a full bed, it was kind of a tight space, but it was still lovely. Our window faced the side of the hotel and when people would lounge outside we could hear everything. But we live in Manhattan, so noise wasn't really annoying to us. You might want to ask for a front facing room though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Cornstalk is a beautiful hotel, ideally placed for investigating the French Quarter. Louis, the manager, is helpful beyond compare and ensured we were able to see and experience everything we'd hoped, making arrangements with and recommending tour providers. The room was extremely clean and comfortable, and on a sunny day its a beautiful place to sit outside and watch the horse and carriage tours pause outside so fellow tourists can look enviously at the lovely old building! We stayed here while our holiday coincided with the chaos of the NCAA Final Four and it was a true haven of calm. Loved the place and recommended it to fellow travellers we met before we'd even finished our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost_Boyces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
2,206 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
2,427 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
591 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,003 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 161 in New Orleans
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Property: Cornstalk Hotel
Address: 915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing