We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service, Beautiful Place, Perfect Location”
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
La Vernia, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Service, Beautiful Place, Perfect Location”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Cornstalk is lovely inside and out. The rooms are exquisite. Louis, the owner/manager/concierge/really nice guy was super helpful and accommodating. He got us just the right room, and it was reasonably priced. He has even compiled a list of restaurants and tours for the guests' convenience, which served us well. All we had to do was tell him what tour we wanted to do the day before and he made arrangements for us. The Cornstalk is easy walking distance to the top restaurants and best local music in the French Quarter. You know you're at a historic place when the guided walking tours and buggy drivers stop at the hotel to talk about it as a landmark, both of which we witnessed. Leaving the modern\touristy parts of the French Quarter (Bourbon Street) and going back to the room was like going back in time to the 1800's, only with convenient modern amenities. The Mardi Gras parade went right by the hotel and we could watch it all from the porch and courtyard, or we could have used the common balcony. I would definitely recommend the Cornstalk and will stay here again when we’re in NOLA.

Room Tip: E-mail Louis or call to get a room tailored to your needs. If you need a parking space, mention that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    168
    31
    21
    13
See reviews for
70
321
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at the Cornstalk Hotel in January 2010 for the Super Bowl weekend when the Saints won the Super Bowl. We went with several other couples. The hotel is in a good location in the French Quarter but I probably would not stay there again. It is a beautiful place but not the most spacious. The beds were uncomfortable and the bathroom was very tiny. Had a hard time doing my hair and makeup in such a small room. It was very noisy and we didn't get to sleep until 5am because of all of the yelling of the passerbys but the Saints had won the Super Bowl so I think this was a exceptional night for noise. There is off street parking and the manager is very nice and accommodating but I probably would not book a room there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveTheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Wow, step back in history from the wrought iron "cornstalk" fencing to the beautiful bedrooms. Furnishings are all antique as entire decor. So convenient to everything in French Quarter. Second time staying here and love it each time.

Room Tip: Your are one of the stops on tour guide, so while having coffee expect visitors out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The first thing you will notice about this most beautiful old hone is the corn stalk fence with morning glory pumpkin and corn the left side of the home is a castle and on the right it is a mansion all surrounded by a story of one mans love towards his wife a truly amazing and beautiful hotel

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We spent our first wedding anniversary at the Cornstalk Inn from January 11 through January 14. We were with close friends who just so happen to be from Lousiana; one from New Orleans. We could not have been happier at the Inn. Not only beautiful from the outside, but as soon as you walk up the big staircase and through the stunning lead crystal front door, you are greeted warmly by Louis Darmiento who makes you feel like you have just arrived at Grandma's place for the weekend. He is warm, friendly and informative without being intrusive.

Our room was upstairs and absolutely stunning. Four-poster bed, lovely decorations, fire place, and it was confirmed at a glance....you are in New Orleans! It was a bit warm at night and there was no way to regulate the temperature, so we just opened the windows.That was an easy fix. And though this Inn is located on Royal Street in the French Quarter, it was surprisingly quiet.

The location is excellent. You are surrounded by restaurants, shops, galleries without being in the true center of what can be a noisy, and overly-crowded Quarter. If you are planning a trip to New Orleans, I would suggest you look no further than Cornstalk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conway813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Our stay at the Cornstalk Hotel could not have been better. The manager Louis and his wife, made us feel right at home and went out of their way to make sure we knew what was available to do and see in New Orleans. The hotel is in the heart of the French Quarters so you can walk to just about anything you want to do in the area. The rooms are all furnished with Victorian furniture adding to the charm of the building itself. The balcony is very relaxing and a great place for your morning coffee. We planned on spending 3 nights but had such a good time we added a fourth to our trip. Can't say enough good things about the hotel or staff. They look after all your needs from providing hair dryers to local restaurant menus.

Room Tip: We had a very large room upstairs by the balcony. It was the perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 987Markay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

When we walked passed this Hotel we went in and got a brochure and booked in for 3 nights on are return trip to Memphis. Situated right in the middle of Royal street, it has such a beautiful Victorian charm about it. The rooms are very Victorian and is a special place to stay for your special celebration. You are just around the corner from Bourbon Street

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
2,254 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
416 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,232 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#67 of 162 in New Orleans
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Property: Cornstalk Hotel
Address: 915 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing