We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Romantic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Romantic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Our stay at the Cornstalk Hotel could not have been better. The manager Louis and his wife, made us feel right at home and went out of their way to make sure we knew what was available to do and see in New Orleans. The hotel is in the heart of the French Quarters so you can walk to just about anything you want to do in the area. The rooms are all furnished with Victorian furniture adding to the charm of the building itself. The balcony is very relaxing and a great place for your morning coffee. We planned on spending 3 nights but had such a good time we added a fourth to our trip. Can't say enough good things about the hotel or staff. They look after all your needs from providing hair dryers to local restaurant menus.

Room Tip: We had a very large room upstairs by the balcony. It was the perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 987Markay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    163
    30
    20
    13
See reviews for
68
309
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

When we walked passed this Hotel we went in and got a brochure and booked in for 3 nights on are return trip to Memphis. Situated right in the middle of Royal street, it has such a beautiful Victorian charm about it. The rooms are very Victorian and is a special place to stay for your special celebration. You are just around the corner from Bourbon Street

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I hadn't been to the Cornstalk for nearly a decade, but there it stood, just as proud as ever. The Bride and I spent quite a few visits staying at the Cornstalk. The hotel hasn't lost any of it's charm, and my stay this time was a stroll down memory lane. Louis, the "new" onsite manager should receive the unofficial title, "Concierge Extraordinaire!"

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waltappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

My girlfriend surprised me by reserving a room for us in the quarter at the beautiful Cornstalk Hotel. Small room, but represents the quarter perfectly. Quiet, unique and quaint. No, it is not a five star resort, no, it does not cater to the prim and proper, but it will make your stay in the quarter feel authentic, and we live 10 miles away. I only wish they had more rooms: reserve your room early.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Three of my close girlfriends and I stayed at The Cornstalk in late October. We loved the hotel and enjoyed late afternoons on the balcony and front porch watching the world go by and enjoying a cocktail. The location is fabulous - within short walking distance to all of the French Quarter sites but still quiet late at night (we were upstairs toward the back of the hotel). We stayed in the room with two queen beds (we like to stay in one room to allow for constant visiting) and it was perfect with a little sitting area to hang out in. Louis is very helpful and has lots of info about New Orleans if you need it for tours and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to all and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife & I booked 4 nites being fooled by it,s antique charm(10/25/11-10/28/11. After traveling a full day we arrived early evening.I carried our lugage up steps two flights,(just wanted to eat and then get some rest for the next day).Returning to our room we started to notice the first problems.No water or ANYTHING in a so-called B&B,NO CURTAINS for PRIVACY in our room with strangers on the upstairs deck -5 feet away.But since it was freezing due to no control on the blaring AIR-CONDITIONING we still had on our clothes & jackets ALL nite.The early morning complaint to LEWIS we were told"After all it,s a 2 hundred year old site and he can,t shut the AIR off" but he promised to send blankets and a heater up for that nite and so on-with his BS.To top it off my wife started with a head cold which steadily got worse of course LEWIS was nowhere to be found(and NO heater & blankets) temp in the 50,sI wanted to leave at 2AM and sleep in the lobby of the airport .We,re in our seventies,I am 76 it was wearing us down with costant freezing air flow which never let up.After being up ALL nite again I was also getting sick.I picked up our lugage off the floor since their are NO racks and left that TOMB! AND THAT,S THE TRUTH,JACK! Tony C.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornstalkManager, General Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
First of all, we would like to sincerely apologize for any displeasure or discomfort that this guest received while they were staying at the Cornstalk Hotel. We appreciate their opinion and hope that we can use any criticism to improve our service. Secondly, we wish to address the criticisms that they have had concerning our hotel.

The Cornstalk is a small and intimate hotel. We do not claim to be a Bed and Breakfast. We are actually a Boutique Hotel and we make guests fully aware that we do not serve any type of food or beverage. However, we do offer bottled water and soda and we have an ice machine available for the guests. We tell the guests this at check-in and it is also noted in the welcome package that the guests are given at this time as well.

During check-in we give the guests a thorough orientation of the hotel. At this time, we always tell our guests that if there is anything they need assistance with, they should not hesitate to ask our manager for help. In addition, if we receive any indication that a guest requires assistance carrying their bags to their rooms, we do not hesitate to offer our help.

Moreover, the room that this guest stayed in looks out onto the common-use balcony, (which is stated on our website). Accordingly, every window in the room has both sheer and blackout drapes. The only windows that does not have drapes is the stained glass windows on the tower turret, (which do not overlook the balcony). However, the stained glass still allows privacy while still allowing beautiful sunlight to filter through into the room.

It is our goal that our guests are as satisfied as possible. We sincerely wish that we can serve every guest to their fullest comfort but being an old, historic building, there are occasionally unexpected and unforeseen circumstances.

Lastly, we would like to assure any future guests that we appreciate all the reviews that we receive and that we use any criticisms given to improve our service and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Cornstalk Hotel is a wonderful old historic hotel at which to stay right in the heart of the French Quarter. The rooms can be on the small side, but if you want larger rooms, they are available for a higher price. Otherwise, the hotel is very clean, close to everything in the Quarter and the service is exemplary. The hotel manager, Louis, is extremely helpful and very friendly. He has a great knowledge of things to do (and when) in the Quarter and is a great resource before walking out the door to experience the Quarter. There has been some confusion in previous TripAdvisor reviews re: amenities of the hotel. This is not a bed and breakfast, but it does have all the things you need to have a pleasant experience in a hotel. The shampoo, hairdryers, glasses, ice and ice buckets are all on the first floor near the registration desk and not in the rooms. It is no problem to serve yourself to get any of these items you might need. Louis' 'orientation' makes this very clear. (One review said there was no shampoo.) My wife and I would gladly stay here again. Our visit to the Cornstalk was wonderful and feel like it heightened the 5 nights we were in the Quarter (during Halloween!).

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor are a little quieter. Larger rooms are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealHawaii50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Property: Cornstalk Hotel
Address: 915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing