We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Cornstalk.”
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornstalk Hotel
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Baton Rouge, La
11
Reviewed May 16, 2003

The cornstalk was great. It is definitely a nice piece of old new orleans. The rooms are not large, but when you are in New Orleans you really only need a room for sleeping. It was quaint and full of charm.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 588 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
LAKE CHARLES,LA
13
Reviewed February 2, 2003

Great location. Room was a bit small and the bathoom was made for someone much shorter than my 6'2" frame. Staff is very friendly and willing to help. Overall a good place to stay.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
659
Reviewed January 31, 2003

We stayed two nights at the Cornstalk so perhaps we did not give it a fair shake. There are steps into the building and they have no one to help with bags. There is no elevator. The back stairway, where we were directed to ascend was steep, I mean really, really steep and as narrow as a phone booth. It was a struggle to get upstairs. Use the front stairway it's easier! The place is beautiful, that's true, but shabby, as are many places of this age and location. The view from the second floor roof patio was wonderful. I was really concerned to find the front door unlocked and ajar when we returned at 11pm and the hallway and desk totally deserted. The room doors have flimsy old locks so I do not rate it well for security. Breakfast was coffee and a roll delivered to the room or patio. The room was extremely small but charming and historic. The bathroom was unique and difficult but not more than is expected in a very old house converted to a B and B. The check out woman was a different person from check in and she was downright rude. It was our single poor experience in New Orleans and was the only time we were treated like an irritating interruption. We also heard her snapping at the poor soul who served our breakfast and doubled as the housekeeping maid. At checkout when I wanted to find this lady to tip her, because she had been so nice and frankly I felt sorry for her working conditions, the desk lady informed me she would take the tip for her. I don't think so! Would I stay there again? Probably. The beauty of the architecture and hallways and historic qualities of the place made up for snotty staff and anxiety I felt over finding the place wide open well after dark but I will be prepared with my cell phone ready. If you have no ability to wrestle your bags up the stairs you might want to reconsider. If you stay there, give the breakfast lady a big tip - she deserves it.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Glendora, CA
12
Reviewed October 7, 2002

The hotel itself is beautiful, however the room was so small that my boyfriend and I had a difficult time getting from one side of the bed to the other. I would suggest the room we stayed in is better suited for midgets. Nice staff though, and lovely balcony where breakfast is served. Just too pricy for a normal sized person.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: En general las habitaciones no tienen vistas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herunefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamere j, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank LSSC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamere j, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Philipp E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamere j, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#54 of 167 in New Orleans
603 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 167 in New Orleans
2,300 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 167 in New Orleans
630 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#37 of 167 in New Orleans
448 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#42 of 167 in New Orleans
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $193 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing