We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Central”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bourgoyne Guest House
Ranked #110 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique and Central”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Way late in my review, but wanted to post something nonetheless. We stayed here for Halloween weekend last year and absolutely enjoyed our stay. You cannot find a better location in the French Quarter if you want to be near all the action, sights, and fun. We stayed in the Green Room, and were able to enjoy all the Halloween festivities in the street from up in the balcony just off the bedroom. Great vantage point. The owner Mr. Bourgoyne was delightful and helpful without being obtrusive, a true N'Orleanian with deep family roots in Louisiana. This place is for people that enjoy history, character, and uniqueness. Not for people who want somewhere antiseptic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JJBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
471 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

stayed here several yrs back. J.Bourgoyne house is great. off the dark end of boubon st. it is nice to be able to go back to the room if nessasary. green room is spacious..too much really for a couple but that said loved the 3rd floor balcony,

Room Tip: green room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I heard about this place via trip advisor. We were going to New Orleans for 3 nights and I wanted somewhere that seemed safe / had a balcony / had some character. What I got was one of the coolest places ever.

My wife and I are 25 and love quirky b&bs. While no breakfast - this place has so much charm. In terms of location - it's right on Bourbon St a block down past the one end where they close the street. So in other words - you feel safe as you walk home since there are people around, but it's not right on the insane part of Bourbon where noise is flooding into the room.

You enter into a typical new orleans courtyard and climb the coolest 3 story spiral stairs I've encountered. Tons of exposed brick / old furniture. The top floor Green Suite where we stayed is easily the best deal in New Orleans. I believe we paid around 130/night! The ceilings are high / antiques everywhere / 2 bedrooms / old bathroom / and you crawl through a window to reach the balcony. We personally love weird stuff like this - so it was perfect for us. Also - good AC! Which was great to come back to on our mid-day breaks around 2.

But the highlight of the property is the owner - Jay. He's one of the nicest people you'll meet. Talk to him - he has tons of great recommendations and cool stories from when he was in the circus. Look at the underside of the stairs and you can see his old trapeze bar hanging.

Overall - I'd avoid if you don't like stairs. This place is great for location, charm, quirky furniture, and a nice eccentric host. We've stayed in quite a few cool places but this was perfect for New Orleans.

Room Tip: Top suite is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ark18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Stayed with a group of 4 friends, Mr. Bourgoyne is the perfect host. This is an authentic french quarters home that has been converted to a warm, cordial, homey guest house. The location is the best-- you can walk everywhere. Studios are small clean and efficient units. The Green room is awesome-- 2 bedroom suite full kitchen sitting room--This suite usually goes quickly book it if you can. I've booked the petite suite for my next stay.. Must be able to walk up and down stairs. All rooms surround a beautiful courtyard. If your looking for hotel services this is not for you. If you want the real New Orleans French Quarters experience this is your place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanosi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at the J. Bourgoyne House for two nights in April.

You have to be a certain type of person to enjoy this guesthouse. If you are looking for high-end luxuries, an attentive staff, modernity...don't bother. It is small, furnished with old appliances, smells like an antique store...and we absolutely loved it. If you appreciate authenticity, old charm, vintage, antiques, then stay here.

J. Bourgoyne was beyond sweet. He gave recommendations when we asked, but otherwise stayed out of our way. Yet we knew that if we called him, he would help in any way.

The location is fabulous: on Bourbon St, about 2 blocks away from the craziness. Everything in the French Quarter was easy to walk to, but when we needed relaxation, our room at the guesthouse was always quiet, peaceful, and it overlooked a beautiful courtyard. It offered privacy and relaxation when we wanted it... partying, food, and jazz just a few steps away.

We would recommend the Bourgoyne House to anyone looking to stay in New Orleans and FEEL like you're staying in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Call! Rates were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttons720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This guest house is not for those seeking a typical modern hotel room and full amenities. But if you are seeking an inexpensive room (we paid $92.50/night) on this section of Bourbon Street and are not expecting a lot for this bargain price then you should find this place as adequate as we did. Room decore is dated, but the room was clean (housekeeping is done by the owner himself). We had a full-size frig, a full-size gas range, a coffee maker, kitchen sink with dinnerware, and a good air conditioner. There was no phone or TV in the room. There is a nice little tropical courtyard outside the rooms, which is shared with the next door Bon Maison Guest House (which looked to have more updated rooms). There is no front desk at this guest house, but it has a locked gate off of the sidewalk entrance. You pick up your key at the laundromat next door. Being right in the middle of the French Quarter, everything is a short walk away and there is a homey 24-hour cafe across the street, The Clover Grill. There is no Internet service offered, but we walked two blocks to the Community Coffee shop on Royal & St. Philip and they had free wifi. Although the guest house is right on Bourbon Street, we heard little street noise; our room was on the far side of the courtyard, so rooms in the building fronting the street may get more noise. FYI: Set rate for a cab from airport for 1 or 2 people is $33, but is cheaper than 2 people in shuttle van. You can also take a $2 city bus from the airport all the way down to Canal Street - see airport website.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the guest house website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The Bourgoyne House fit our needs perfectly. It was walking distance to everything in the French Quarter. The room was in need of a little paint but was VERY clean. The studio we rented opened onto the quaint courtyard filled with tropical plants. The owner was charming and very friendly. There were other people staying there but it felt like we were alone as we never saw the other guest. We will stay there again on our next trip to New Orleans (New Years Eve I hope)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#137 of 162 in New Orleans
53 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,538 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourgoyne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourgoyne Guest House

Property: Bourgoyne Guest House
Address: 839 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3106
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bourgoyne Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing