We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attracted because Bon Appetit said it was good”

Southern Candymakers
Ranked #3 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $205
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Southern Candymakers is a family-owned candy store in New Orleans' charming French Quarter. According to Bon Appetit Magazine, we have the best pralines...fresh and handmade daily!
Port Saint Joe, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Attracted because Bon Appetit said it was good”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A hole in the wall with greet smells. They let you sample the original praline but I opted to buy a chocolate praline. It was pricey but deliciously rich! Friendly staff and we enjoyed watching them scoop out praline dough by the ice cream scoop from a huge copper bowl.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    172
    33
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Southern decadence at it's sweetest!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I discovered Southern Candymakers a few years back while visiting New Orleans. The store has such an amazing smell and so many choices, you want to try everything. I order from them every year and I am so happy with the quality of their pralines, turtles. Yum!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
We're so happy our pralines and turtles continue to make it onto your annual New Orleans candy list! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best candy in town”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Best pralines, best bark, best chocolate...everything! Even the coffee they sell there is fantastic. And chocolate pasta...you heard me! Best candy in New Orleans.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcote75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
Thank you for your review and your enthusiastic praise for our candy! Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The absolute best praline and tortes in New Orleans. Friendly staff and you can see them make the tortes right there in the store. Stay away because you could become addicted.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgoo1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
We're glad our staff took care of you and you enjoyed your pralines and tortues! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, great selection, the only place to go for sweets.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

There's plenty of places to go when looking to buy sweets in New Orleans and they all seem good.

This place just feels like the original store that started it and is great to get some authentic sweets to take back with you.

Such a wide selection makes you feel you're not missing anything, and the service is exemplary. Very helpful and willing to accommodate any request.

Located near the French Market, this place is also easy to find and makes you feel like you didn't need to go anywhere else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rudowm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 1, 2015
We're glad our staff took care of you and you enjoyed your sweets! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Candymakers also viewed

 

Been to Southern Candymakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing