We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

Southern Candymakers
Ranked #3 of 62 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $205
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Southern Candymakers is a family-owned candy store in New Orleans' charming French Quarter. According to Bon Appetit Magazine, we have the best pralines...fresh and handmade daily!
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The aroma drew us inside and the friendly service was awesome. The pralines are delicious and the candy!!!! Yes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

That's wonderful you had such a savory experience! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 820 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We love the pralines here. They are creamy and delicious. The staff is always very helpful and efficient. We visit everytime we go to New Orleans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clarksvilleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

We're happy our pralines continue to make it onto your return to New Orleans visit list! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

You could smell the sweet aroma from the street. My friend and I had to pull each other out of there to keep from going crazy. She chocolate covered cherries and I got toffee-sugar covered pecans. We both got ice cream. (The flavors are wonderful!) It wasn't far from our resort so we could have gone there many times, but our midsections dictated otherwise.

1  Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

That's wonderful you had such a savory experience! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We purchased a pound of the pecan praline - a delightful treat and we have been savoring each piece making sure not to share much. I am not big on candy but this is an exception.

1  Thank JBB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

We're happy you enjoyed your pralines! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've written two other reviews because we come here on every trip to New Orleans BUT I had never tried the coconut pralines before. I'm much more a fan of chocolate, so I've had the turtles, and fudge, and different barks but this trip we brought back sweet potato pralines as well as coconut pralines and also some things for the kids like chocolate covered marshmallows on skewers, chocolate covered Oreos and little chocolate frogs. Those we great as usual and the sweet potato pralines were good but the coconut pralines, even days later, were some of the best candy I've ever had in 30 years. As usual the employees were really nice and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LydiaGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

We're happy our fresh treats continue to make it onto your return to New Orleans visit list! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Candymakers also viewed

 

Been to Southern Candymakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing