We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pralines!!!!!”

Southern Candymakers
Ranked #3 of 63 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $205
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Southern Candymakers is a family-owned candy store in New Orleans' charming French Quarter. According to Bon Appetit Magazine, we have the best pralines...fresh and handmade daily!
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pralines!!!!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Southern candymakers oh how I love thee, let me count the ways. I dropped in twice in a weekend visit. This place smells like heavan when you walk in. There are a lot of praline places in NOLA but they dont smell like SCM's I will go back again and again and when I cant afford to fly I will be buying online. Two words "Original Praline"

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsAmerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 15, 2015
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic praise for our fresh pralines and for your review! Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    168
    33
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great candy, but it'll cost you.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in, waited in a long line that moved quickly, ordered 4 pieces of candy and paid over $10! I have to confess though...it was REALLY good. I recommend the dark chocolate turtles.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 15, 2015
We're so happy you enjoyed your dark chocolate tortues! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've never been a big fan of candies but the praline and fudge here are awesome!
Don't over indulge lol...
I love the smell of the store once you walk in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeaYourSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 15, 2015
That's wonderful you had such a savory experience! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The BEST pralines”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

While in town, I wanted to compare some of the pralines. I tried these and just fell in love. Funny how you think they will all taste alike, but they don't. These were the best out of the 6 different ones I tried!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 15, 2015
We're happy you enjoyed your fresh pralines! Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

When you're in the French Quarter, do yourself a favor and stop here for a treat. Terrific candies made fresh daily. Don't try to argue with me about whether these are the best pralines in NOLA - I have no idea. But I do know that the half-dozen sweet treats I've sampled here have all been excellent. Expensive? Yeah, probably - so just have a little bit! Worth every penny to me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Creeker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socandy, Customer Service at Southern Candymakers, responded to this review, October 15, 2015
Thank you for your review and your enthusiastic praise for our fresh treats! Warm Regards, Southern Candymakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Candymakers also viewed

 

Been to Southern Candymakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing