We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even trying anymore”
Review of Leonardo Trattoria - CLOSED

Leonardo Trattoria
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Girod St
Transit: St. Charles streetcar line
Description: Leonardo Trattoria offers authentic Italian cuisine, Sicilian style.Boasting a prime location in the heart of New Orleans, along with a top notch staff and chef, Leonardo Trattoria is known for putting out the very best and most authentic Italian cuisine in all of New Orleans. Offering Sicilian-style lunch and dinner, wood fire oven pizza, incredible desserts like homemade cannoli, a relaxed and eclectic atmosphere with Italian mobster movies playing on the flat screen TVs, Leonardo Trattoria is an old favorite of both everyday locals and Mardi Gras tourists alike. It's a dining experience that one won't soon forget.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Not even trying anymore”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place was never known for great food or service, but it used to be an okay place to grab lunch in the CBD. It is never crowded and at the height of the lunch hour you would often find that you were the only customers there. Lately, however, it's like they just don't care. The place looks sad and tired, and it's not very clean. (If your very large ladies' room garbage is overflowing at 11:30 am, you just don't care anymore.) The food is sub par and the service is just completely lackluster. We used to like it because of its quirkiness, but now it's just sad. Having said all that, it has potential as a happy hour spot because of its location, just stick to the antipasto plate and don't ask them to cook for you. And, ladies, if you have to go to the facilities, step next door to Herbsaint, which positively sparkles.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank campmarengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    4
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, unpretentious”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at NOLA for a graduation week-end. Our large group was having problems booking a reservation at any of the many good ones in the city. We decided to split the group and half went to a "well rated" restaurant and we went to this italian trattoria. Although the place ambiance is not glamourous (but exactly as any trattoria in any small town in Italy for any one of the readers that have been there), the food was great. I got the veal chop that was tender and tasted great. All the pasta was well cooked and freshly made. I tasted from each of my family members dishes, all were great. The waitress was very nice and always looking to please us. She did seemed unexperienced and lacked in proper table etiquette, for example she wanted to remove our plates before all of us were finished, also she offered dessert while we were still eating. But all in all, the prices were affordable and the food was good.

Helpful?
Thank guvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Poor planning”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I booked this restaurant about three months in advance due to the New Orleans Marathon. I called to confirm that we would have 15 people for 5:30pm. I got to the restaurant about 15 minutes early. They did not have our tables put together and still had to do this. We had everyone there, they were still putting tables together and two of our party had to sit at the bar. They took our order and we waited for over an hours to have anything served to us. We didn't even get any bread. When we did get served, 1/2 of the orders were wrong and 2 or the orders never came. The two people from our party who were at the bar were served 1/2 and hour before everyone else. It took us over three hours to get served and leave. They were turning other patrons who had reservations away. Then when we got the bill, they were going to separate it and then didn't. I felt extremely bad for the wait staff especially one of the girls who was extremely apologetic but, there is not excuse for this poor planning. As for the food, it was okay but even some of the pasta was not cooked through.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
250 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great wood fired pizza.”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A bit overpriced. . But solid wood fired pizza & good pasta dishes. Not the best service in town. . But it's all good. The pizza makes it worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localyokel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Cozy place with great food.”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just happened upon this gem, but it was a great change of pace from the traditional local cuisine. Indoor and outdoor seating and on the streetcar line.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLBBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing