We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in NOLA”
Review of MiLa Restaurant - CLOSED

MiLa Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Baronne Street
Description: With a seasonal menu driven by fresh ingredients, MiLa delivers a new style of Southern fare with a lighter touch using French techniques. Discover a world of inspirational cuisine in downtown New Orleans.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Gem in NOLA”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

MiLa was a truly wonderful surprise. Normally when in New Orleans, we tend to eat the majority of our meals in the French Quarter. On this trip, we strayed a bit when we heard about this place.

Downright delicious is all I can say. I ordered the Sweet Potato Pappardelle, served with brown butter and sheep's milk cheese, and it was amazing. There is only one restaurant I visit every time I head to New Orleans (Cochon), but this one might make the cut for future visits. We'll definitely be back to see what else they have in store for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    18
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mabank, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent romantic dinner for couples”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We were staying in the hotel and thought we might explore the restaurant. We sat at the bar and enjoyed some wine. We decided to sit at the bar and eat. The bartender was very attentive and was great when deciding on food. No bad choices in this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TX_Guttuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, quiet romantic setting”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to MiLa on the first night of our trip. This is a perfect place to go as a couple - it was quiet dim and had a very calming feel to it. Decor is modern without being pretentious. Great attention to detail is everywhere, especially the food. The white bean dip they serve with bread should NOT be given out for free, it was fantastic. I ordered the appetizer special called Pig Head Cheese, which is difficult to describe and could be an acquired taste for some, but we loved it. Wife had the redfish salad. Main courses were seared tuna and tea-brined duck. Tuna was great, but the duck was not like any duck I ever tasted - I'm only cooking my duck at home this way from now on.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WunderlustKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor pacing and service.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you read other reviews on this site, you will see that common threads among disappointed diners are the achingly slow pacing and spotty service at this fine dining restaurant. This is true. Having been served only three (of six) courses more than one hour and thirty minutes after ordering, we decided to call it quits and left the restaurant. When asked what the issue was with the unacceptably slow pacing, the server blamed the kitchen. He said that there were two parties of 8 people who'd been seated just before my partner and I had arrived, and their orders were causing a logjam in the kitchen.

One would think that the main reason a restaurant takes reservations is to ensure that the kitchen and the staff are able to provide excellent and consistent service to all diners, no matter how large or small the party and no matter what time they were seated. I explained this concept to the manager on our way out, but all she had to offer was a hollow apology and a reiteration that the large parties seated ahead of us were the cause of the delays. I told her that may have been the *reason* but that it was not an *excuse.*

While the food was passable, with the abundance of wonderful fine dining establishments in New Orleans, there is no excuse to waste your time on MiLa. Try Le Foret or August or Domenico - all literally steps away, far superior, and with no need for excuses...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hfkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great New Orleans Restaurant”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This small restaurant located in a Marriott in the central business district was absolutely wonderful. Food was light, but utterly remarkable in flavor and presentation. Some highly unusual dishes using common ingredients in a unique way. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hersch478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MiLa Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing