We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun at the Bar”

Palm Court Jazz Cafe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A stylish jazz spot in the French Quarter, which serves Cajun and Creole dishes.
Crestview Hills, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun at the Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went for drinks and music at the Palm Court Jazz Café and sat at the bar with the locals. We had such a good time and rate the experience as one of the best in New Orleans. We paid a cover charge but it was well worth it for the music we enjoyed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMK465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eat before you go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just arrived back at our hotel after spending the evening at the Palm Court Jazz Cafe. Great music, nice place, good service but the chef has got to go. Salad small and totally unimaginative with some bad bits of salad greens. Soup just okay. Hubby had snapper and shrimp entree Snapper tough and tasteless and seemed as if it had been frozen for quite some time. I had a beef curry dish with rice. Ever so disappointing. The spices were either thrown in at last minute or far too much spice was used and as a result the dish had a bitter intense flavour . I was very hungry but could only manage to eat a small amount of it. Hubby ordered the bread pudding for dessert. It was pretty good. I just so resent wasting our money on mediocre food. Would not eat there again. Additionally, we were each charged $5.00 for the band. For $5.00 a person one could have chosen to simply listen to the band and not be required to order dinner. That's the way to go

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhymney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Really good music with a lovely atmosphere away from the hussle and bustle of Bourbon street. A good range of drinks and snacks were available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow Maries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great music, Poor food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We ended up sideways on with the great jazz band although we had reserved. Specify you want a table facing them when you book. 5 dollars per person was added to the bill for the music which well deserved it but it would have been nice to know beforehand. The food was below expectation for fine dining or even plain dining. Different bands play on different nights but they all seem to be among the best according to other reviews.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Crazy old club/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The owner is a funky old lady that runs around the place dancing with clients but the music is the best we heard the whole week. Very professional jazz musicians entertained us with classic tunes. You can order a meal or sit at the bar. Food is good but not show stopping -however the vibe of the place is so great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CubbyandBoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Court Jazz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Palm Court Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing