We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music, Poor food.”

Palm Court Jazz Cafe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A stylish jazz spot in the French Quarter, which serves Cajun and Creole dishes.
Stow Maries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great music, Poor food.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We ended up sideways on with the great jazz band although we had reserved. Specify you want a table facing them when you book. 5 dollars per person was added to the bill for the music which well deserved it but it would have been nice to know beforehand. The food was below expectation for fine dining or even plain dining. Different bands play on different nights but they all seem to be among the best according to other reviews.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Crazy old club/restaurant”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The owner is a funky old lady that runs around the place dancing with clients but the music is the best we heard the whole week. Very professional jazz musicians entertained us with classic tunes. You can order a meal or sit at the bar. Food is good but not show stopping -however the vibe of the place is so great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CubbyandBoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Dixieland traditional jazz.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Great Dixieland jazz. Just like you would expect here in N.O. many years ago. You don't go for the food, just the terrific music. Started a little after 8 p.m. We just ordered drinks and shrimp (not good). Great fun time anyway.

Helpful?
Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing food ,but good jazz”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The snapper was way overcooked, bread was lousy but veggies were passable. For dessert, the bread pudding was aces! Someone has to tell the antique blonde to sit down!! An embarrassing distraction. But, the music was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lojlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the Palm Court and we were blown away by the combination of both good food and excellent entertainment. Had a 7:00 reservation and did not leave until about 10:30. Got to see and listen to the lengendary Lionel Ferbos, 100+ years old and still performing. Numerous locals as well as out of town visitors enjoying the music, as well as dancing in any available open space between the tables. Service was excellent and they even kept our food warm while we went outside to watch the first parade of the Mardi Gras season go by. Probably the best evening we've had in NO in quite a while. Definintely on our return list next time we visit NO.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JKB1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Court Jazz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Palm Court Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing