We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Cars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Street

Royal Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Voodoo Tour
Ranked #6 of 348 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This unusual shopping area is one of the city's most historic streets.
Boulder
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No Cars!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Riding our bikes around NOLA, this was pure delight to find a street we could cruise around without the hassle of autos.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MangoEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,935
    1,911
    278
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Skip the Bourbon and go for the Royal”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I guess if you are visiting NO for the first time, then definitely take a walk down Bourbon Street to say you've done it. We preferred Royal Street, it's much more civilized with lots of shops to go into or window shop, lots of great restaurants and some good street entertainment. Start with lunch at Mr. B's (Iberville and Royal) and then take a leisurely walk down towards Jackson Square, then over to the French Market and then Café Du Monde for some beignet and café au lait.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“French Antiques and other fun stuff!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Royal Street has a beautiful collection of antique shops and art galleries that are fun to visit. Lots of other fun stores too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Royal Street”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Lovely stores, great places to eat. Great place to stroll. Very convenient to all things in the French Quarter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, MD
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Street musicians and art galleries”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

When visiting the French Quarter, we always walked back to our hotel on Royal Street. Street musicians and performance artists, art galleries, and a cast of characters. Great people watching and window shopping. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EasternShoreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Street also viewed

 

Been to Royal Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing