We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Atmosphere”
Review of Royal Street

Royal Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Voodoo Tour
More Info
$250.00*
and up
Private French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #7 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This unusual shopping area is one of the city's most historic streets.
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Royal Street is lined with art gallersies, boutoqiue shops, antique stores, and cafe's. Walking the streets in a foreign city is one of my favorite things to do and Royal Street is up there with the best streets I've walked in America. In fact, the entire French Quarter is that way. Just be prepared for mayhem on Bouroun Street.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank scorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,078
    1,979
    292
    34
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auxvasse
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Shopping done a little different”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

There are shops here that you will not see other places. We went into art studios, antique shops and jewelry stores. We were treated well in each place even though we didn't look like upscale shoppers. The English Antiques were something to see. The Silversmith was interesting. It was different from the usually trash we had seen in the tourism shops on the main streets.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank auxvasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An Antique Shoppers Dream”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We saw more high-quality and unique antique furniture, accessories and jewelry in a 6 block area than we have seen in several major cities combined. The only challenge was the high-end prices that came with some of the items, but you do "pay for what you get". If we lived closer, our home would have been furnished with pieces from a half-dozen stores there!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Shopping”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Royal Street provides the opportunity for excellent shopping. Anything is available on Royal Street.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than Bourbon”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Walk this street to see the French Quarter without the sex of Bourbon Street. There's still booze, but less, and the establishments are more classy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Street also viewed

 

Been to Royal Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing