We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Jazz”
Review of The Old U.S. Mint

The Old U.S. Mint
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
The Big Easy Insider Tour: The Locals Experience
Ranked #50 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Old U.S. Mint is the only mint that produced American and Confederate coinage. The mint was built in 1835 and ceased in 1909. The Old U.S. Mint is currently the location of the Louisiana Historical Center, The New Orleans Jazz Club Collections of the Louisiana State Museum, and the new performing arts center. Visit to explore the history of minting, jazz, and free music performances!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Go for the Jazz”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to visit the mint and to see the jazz collection there. We went on Wednesday at noon and really got lucky. Jim Hession was performing a "mixture of jazz standards, ragtime and stride piano". He was great he gave simple, clear explanations and played so well. Fabulous. The cost - free.
Check www.nps.gov/jazz to see what is playing . Jim is playing next Wed. too I believe.
It is on the top floor
Oh and the mint was ok.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    138
    77
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opp, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Top-notch, and free!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It did not take long to visit this free exhibit but it was quite enjoyable and memorable. Of course there are old coins here, but there is a room where you can see the original brick bowels of the structure, very cool.

Upstairs is another free exhibit in the same building, where you can see Louis Armstrong's first cornet, and other excellent jazz memorabilia.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleinopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Music”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Walking along the streets you hear musicians and appreciate the raw talent. The mint has free organized concerts. More great music and the show ended with everyone dancing NOLA style!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mayra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stop in the French Quarter”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Old U.S. Mint is a large building but limited exhibit space. The Jazz exhibit upstairs was very professional looking and interactive. The mint exhibit is limited as others have commented on here. I spoke with a employee who said when the building was converted into a prison and some of the equipment for the mint was dumped so that may be why. Nice to visit if you are in the French Quarter but I wouldn't make a separate trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisianatraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mint exhibit limited, upstairs jazz exhibit wonderful”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The mint exhibit was informative but somewhat scanty and did not draw me in. Good for a casual trip, if just stopping by. I would have been disappointed if we'd made a special trip to see the mint museum.
The jazz exhibit was a wonderful bonus. We learned about Preservation Hall and I was inspired that the dreams and hard work of a small number of people can have born such (musical) fruit. Fellow Oberlin graduate Ben Jaffe was in many of the pictures and quotations.
Recommended for a one hour visit. Warning: Preservation Hall exhibit will rotate out at some point.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jpw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old U.S. Mint also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to The Old U.S. Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing