We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I could live here, I would”

Louisiana Music Factory
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Music and Heritage Tour
Ranked #20 of 222 Shopping in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An excellent record store specializing in music with New Orleans origins.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If I could live here, I would”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wait ... you mean, I can bring my beer into the record store and drink it while browsing through miles and miles of incredible music ranging the gamut from new to comparatively ancient, from cajun to jazz to blues to funk? Can I please stay here forever?!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank electric_lady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a Music Store Should Be!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Mind-boggling selection of New Orleans music. Wide range of genres and performers, including the very old to the very new.

The staff know their stuff and are very helpful in their advice. They are gentle with novices.

Each visit to New Orleans, I visit this store. And my life is better for it.

There is no other store quite like it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great record store just off Canal Street”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

They don't sell rock and rap and pop stuff, but they do offer a neat, organized, huge--huge--selection of local and regional music, jazz and blues. Prices are good and the staff helpful. Loved it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great music store!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Last April I visited the Louisiana Music Factory and felt in love as soon as I stepped its threshold. For music lovers, especially the old school ones, this is like paradise. Forget mp3s and enjoy the real experience of touch real music. An independent store as it is supposed to be. Large collection not only of jazz stuff but others genres as well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FernandoRolim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The most authentic and in depth selection of La. music!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nowhere else on the planet can you fing the selection of music from Louisianna. Twice I have been there and a band showed up and just started rockin' the house live! They have music that you can't find anywhere, both old and new. The staff is incredible and in the know. They are willing to recommend things if you are new to the genre. Everyday after Jazzfest we go here and buy everything we loved from the day. They always have all of it. They are preprared! Sadly, none of them get to attend Jazzfest as they are always working the store.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferteddlieyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana Music Factory also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana Music Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing