We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Interesting”

New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum
Ranked #98 of 354 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There's just enough voodoo lore here to introduce you to the history and culture of this spiritual practice and to tempt you to bring home a love potion or voodoo doll as a souvenir. Guided swamp, plantation and cemetery tours are available.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Small but Interesting”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and adult daughters had this listed as one of our must see attractions on our recent trip to New Orleans. We walked a short distance to the museum after our tour of the French Quarter. It is a very small museum in a converted residence. It only consists of two small rooms. The owner was very friendly and she said we could stay as long as we wished. I was also surprised that we could take photographs. If you keep an open mind, there is a wealth of information about Voodoo, the people who practiced it and its connections to Catholicism. There are numerous artifacts including photographs, shrines, and historic articles. The visit takes about thirty minutes to an hour. It is well worth the small admission price. I would suggest taking the Saint Louis Cemetery Number One tour after this to get an appreciation for Voodoo Priestess Marie Laveau who is buried there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    119
    107
    46
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great collection....”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Yes, it's dark, dusty and small, but there is a lot of great stuff packed in there! Take your time and really look around - it's a great break from the heat of the day and well worth 5 bucks admission!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rkj1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Small museum with big information”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I visited this museum on a visit to New Orleans. This was our 8th annual girl's getaway and we were looking to absorb as much of New Orleans as we could in the small time permitted. This was our last full day in New Orleans and we had just finished a bus tour of the city. The museum was easy to locate due to it being on a side street in the French Quarter. It was steps away from the old Red Light District-Storyville now known as the Iberville Housing Projects. We walked the lenght of Bourbon St from Canal and it took us about 15 minutes. The hostess gave us a brief but informative explanation of the true definition of Voodoo. It was interesting to find out about the similarities between Voodoo and Catholocism. I never knew practicers of Voodoo attended Mass or set up their shrines almost exactly the same way a Catholic does. The museum is very small. Only about the size of a small one bedroom apartment or large studio but the amount of information housed in the small room is well worth the small price we paid. Picture taking is welcome and there are plenty of Gris Gris bags, Voodoo dolls, potions, and other memorabilia for sale in the main lobby. I think the visit is well worth it. It won't take anymore than 30 minutes out of your day and the museum is right on Bourbon so why not support the small locally owned business?

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank reemab923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very informative but too small for the money”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This museum is a little sad due to lack of funding but they did a great job with what they have to work with. The museum is 2 rooms and a hallway; however, there is a ton of interesting information in each one. The altars were fascinating and unlike the voodoo shops such as Marie Laveau's, pictures were allowed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
637 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Interesting for a first time visit”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

When yesterday with my wife and a friend. While the museum is small it is interesting to get an idea of the culture. I would suggest this and then go take a cemetery tour.

I think what is missing in this tour is someone to give a guided tour. Years ago I stopped in here and had a guided tour. They explained the history and culture and it was much more interesting.

Cost $5.00 a person.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing