We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Louis Cemetery No. 1

St. Louis Cemetery No. 1
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour
Ranked #25 of 339 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1789, this cemetery is the oldest in New Orleans and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved this experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I visited this cemetery on our own. We walked thru Armstrong park on the way there. The cemetery was one of the highlights of our trip to NOLA. It was interesting and amazing. I great experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amylafond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,295
    835
    241
    45
    68
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take a Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Much of New Orleans history is reflected within the walls of the cemetery, from the city's French, Spanish, and American heritages, its fires, plagues, burial practices and more. The cemetery is best appreciated with a tour guide. Jane from Strange True Tours really made the visit worthwhile - knowledgeable and rigorous about historical accuracy - and with enough anecdotes to make it fun. One word of caution, make sure the guide you use is licensed by the city (they wear a photo ID badge on a lanyard). Various unlicensed guides hang around the cemetery, but based on some of the tall tales we overheard from them, you'll get more fiction than fact from them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jandy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We did the cemeteries and voodoo tour so really was a tour of cemetery number one. Ok for an quick 15 min visit but not worth any longer than that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clarabelle007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“2nd best thing to do in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

First being St. Louis #2... St. Louis #1 is older (though in better repair) and easier to reach from Bourbon St/French Quarter - also feels safer. Definitely worth a look. Its amusing that N.O. is so famed for this type of cemetery that it appears on souvenirs and postcards.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sigmawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace B.C.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you choose to do this tour - try to get into Ernies group!! He was fabulous. Full of knowledge and a great sense of humour. We had a lot of fun with him.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cemetery No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing