We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience St. Louis Cemetery No. 1
from $10.00
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
from $11.99
More Info
Reviews (3,363)
Filter reviews
3,204 results
Traveler rating
1,816
987
259
58
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,816
987
259
58
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews voodoo queen marie laveau above ground nicholas cage tour guide burial site buried here homer plessy louis cemetery burial practices walking tour french quarter free tours by foot great tour walk around vandalism pyramids
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,204 reviews
Reviewed today

The grounds are semi-cleaned. Some have been kept up and some have not! The history behind it is very interesting.

Thank Pennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

It was difficult finding what times etc to show up for a tour. I looked on the cemetery website and it said 10:00 on Sunday. So after taking a cab there, the man at the gate said she’s already on the first tour (I thought there was only one) and she must be running late. Then it started raining and the man said she was really late. So after standing there for 45 minutes, we left. Had to find another taxi back. So basically, I spent a little over $20 to get wet and not get the tour. (The one thing I really wanted to do!). I did get this one pic from the gate!

2  Thank AroundNAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Very interesting place to walk through. It is a bit run down in parts but the history was great. Our guide was good and informative, but she was on her phone a bit much for our liking. Unfortunately, the only way you can go into the cemetary now is with a guide (which you can get for as little as $10)

1  Thank musketeersslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We had booked with a tour guide. We had a Saturday 10 am tour. It was wicked hot and humid and the tour guide walked us to the cemetery down side streets. He was very knowledgeable of NOLA history.

My reason for this tour was I wanted to visit Voodoo Queen Marie Laveau's final resting place. The cemetery is very tight with all the tours. Our guide explained the history of the tombs. I did leave a gift for Marie but I did not put X's on the tomb. It is disrespectful to deface a tomb. Also, Nicholas Cage has a tomb in this cemetery and it just doesn't quite fit in with the older tombs.

The Big Easy filmed a scene in the cemetery. Apparently, Peter Fonda sat on one of the statues. It did not go over well with the Catholic Church.

We then went to Congo Square and it is truly amazing. Our guide told us where Marie Laveau lived, so we visited her house after our tour ended.

Due to the heat, please remember bottled water, wear sneakers and don't forget an old southern fan.

Thank 6Leef6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We picked up one of the walking tours from the welcome center on Basin Street - purchased city pass which includes this in the price and well worth signing up for before you arrive. We went in November when weather was in the 70s but still very hot. Tombs are packed closely together with a stone wall around it, so you can imagine how hot it gets. Go early if you can - worth walking around and listening to the history of the place.

Thank jojo60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We booked at the Basin st depot and got $5 off with the "Hop on Hop Off Pass". Our tour guide was Charles and he was not only very informative but also very funny. It was a great experience.

Thank Curious66800825929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Rich in history, beautiful place to visit, enjoyed my tour. It was great learning about the cremation process of these tombs, crazy!

Thank Johnnygirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We used Tours with Steve. Our tour guide was actually John and he was excellent! He knew so much about the history of the cemetery and New Orleans! Strongly recommend this tour. Plus we did the 9am and it was practically empty. Only 5 people in our group so could ask lots of questions!

Thank wesandpatricksmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

I was sad to see that the gates are locked and only open to tour groups. There is so much history and culture inside these cemeteries. However there are other cemeterie's near by that are open during the day.

Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Our guide revealed many tales of residents and the interesting burying method there, which was shocking but then, after thinking about it, a heartwarming way to return to the earth.

Thank kofeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews