We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A walk through time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Cemetery No. 1

St. Louis Cemetery No. 1
Book In Advance
$15*
and up
One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour
Ranked #25 of 316 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1789, this cemetery is the oldest in New Orleans and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A walk through time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A Sunday stroll back into the past with indepth storytelling by a wonderful guide brought this tour to life!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,059
    729
    214
    38
    58
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were told not to walk here alone so came as part of a carriage tour from Jackson Square. So atmospheric and fascinating, learnt so much and could have spent hours there reading the inscriptions and looking at the ornately carved stonework. Marie Laveau's tomb with its graffiti and offerings is very interesting indeed, makes you want to learn more about her life. Definitely don't miss the opportunity to see something so unique to New Orleans. Look out for Nic Cages burial plot, the white pyramid.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a must see for anyone traveling to N.O. We were lucky enough to hear about the history of all cemeteries in N.O. while on our plantation tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Took the tour through "Haunted Tours". Our guide was very knowlegable. There is a fee of $20; fortunately we had a coupon for $3 off. One can walk through the cemetary free, but having a guide makes the experience facinating.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank low-maintenance-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“See it with a tour guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We walked to the cemetery by ourselves; the neighborhood is sketchy at best, and we didn't learn much. We went back with a tour, felt safer, and learned quite a bit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cemetery No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing