We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Interesting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Cemetery No. 1

St. Louis Cemetery No. 1
Book In Advance
$15*
and up
One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour
Ranked #26 of 318 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1789, this cemetery is the oldest in New Orleans and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Took the tour through "Haunted Tours". Our guide was very knowlegable. There is a fee of $20; fortunately we had a coupon for $3 off. One can walk through the cemetary free, but having a guide makes the experience facinating.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank low-maintenance-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    738
    216
    39
    59
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“See it with a tour guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We walked to the cemetery by ourselves; the neighborhood is sketchy at best, and we didn't learn much. We went back with a tour, felt safer, and learned quite a bit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Safe to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Although we did make use of one of the Friends of the Cemtery guided tours, we would have been equally happy to visit unescorted.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Unique and worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It's true that you can visit this cemetery on your own - and when we went in the early afternoon, it seemed as if it was pretty safe to walk there from the French Quarter and then explore the cemetery. However, I really learned a lot from seeing it with a tour guide. We went with Haunted History tours, and our guide was excellent. I wouldn't have understood or discovered a lot of what I did if I had just gone on my own.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank voyageur08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like Cemeteries?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I do! I could've stayed all day. It was interesting, I love the ambience and really enjoy looking at all the graves. Spent a little time at Marie Leveau's grave - powerful and intriguing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cemetery No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing