We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cemeteries are fascinating!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Louis Cemetery No. 1

St. Louis Cemetery No. 1
Book In Advance
$15.00*
and up
One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour
Ranked #24 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1789, this cemetery is the oldest in New Orleans and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cemeteries are fascinating!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Being in to genealogy, I am fascinated by cemeteries and I think New Orleans cemeteries are the most amazing I have ever visited in this country. This was a totally new experience for us and going to a New Orleans cemetery should be on every visitors list to "to dos"

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Littleredporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    783
    228
    40
    65
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A 'must see' Cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

When you picture a New Orleans museum in your head - this museum is the image that will appear. It is the 'must see' attraction for people who want to see old above ground burials.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaronessEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Take a Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The cemetery is an amazing place. We found that we got much more out of our visit by taking a tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and explained many things we would have missed had we made the trip on our own.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCEBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I love cemeteries and this is one of the coolest I`ve every been to. We took a tour with Save our Cemeteries and I`d highly recommend them. We weren`t interested in a sensational ghost tour and Brad delivered with an informative account of burial practice and history of the cemetery. There were a lot of people in the cemetery so we felt safe wandering around a bit more after our tour. Lots of warnings about safety, not sure if there`s anyone actually has been attacked. You do need a tour to get the most out of the experience though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gillianrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Take a look. I've never seen anything like it! Take the tram but check the opening hours, there's a very good pub, the bulldog near by for lunch/ a huge variety of craft beers

Helpful?
Thank emer K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cemetery No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing