We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“art (museum) in the park...”

New Orleans City Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.99*
and up
Three Hour City Tour of New Orleans
Ranked #9 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the largest urban parks in the country, City Park has golf, tennis and horseback riding.
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“art (museum) in the park...”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

took the streetcar to City Park (end of that line) and walked to the art museum. We very much enjoyed the exhibits of South Pacific and Native NW American arts as well as of Contemporary art. Not very large but that makes for enjoyable viewing especially when there are some items of high quality

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,312
    903
    143
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, NY
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Went for the "Gambit Food Revue" - gorgeous ponds and oaks”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Several dozen chefs of less-known establishments pulled out the stops at the Pavillion of the Two Sisters Mar 6 evening. We bought tickets in advance and mixed with food-loving locals - all yuo can eat for one ticket price. Oysters Rockefeller, Lobster/Pork Belly SouVide with Brussels Sprouts salad, moonshine, Thai claims, Cochon, Grapefruit Gelato, Gumbo variations...the list goes on.

We can see that this park, which may have been submerged a few years ago, is actually world class, with its old and new trees and landscaping.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueSyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Park Visit”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed the sculpture garden so much we returned for a second visit. We also enjoyed the botanical gardens. If you have children City Park also has a wonderful amusement park. It is really worth the time. Easy access by street car. 30 minutes from downtown.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Big Park Interesting Sculpture Garden”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went here is part of Lousiana Tour Company City Tour. I recommed the tour. Interesting history, cementary tour and Katrina aftermath tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Park with amazing art!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you want a place to get a way from the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter take some time to visit City Park. There are some very creative and memorable art pieces scattered throughout the park and beautiful scenery that you can view for free. We also stopped by the art museum while we were there and their is a botanical garden nearby if you have time as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans City Park also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans City Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing