We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't find any ghosts”

Ogden Museum of Southern Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.99*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass
Ranked #38 of 364 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The range of the collections include painting, sculpture, photography, self-taught art, ceramics and mixed media by Southern artists.
Davison, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Didn't find any ghosts”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just a fun place to visit and see some of the history of this wonderful city. It is important to go in some sort of tour so you can fully appreciate why you see flowers and marking on some of the graves.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lar3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    175
    41
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very dark Art”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The museum was open, airy and well organized. The art was on the "dark" side. Enjoyed the walk through, plan an hour for this venue. The walk down Camp Street from Julia takes you past a Men's Homeless Shelter, so be prepared for that. Across the street is the Contemporary Art Museum.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A quiet, discrete museum”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Actually visited there several years ago, it is a nice compilation of Southern artists and their work. Three floors, at which one can spend pehaps a few hours makes it a good choice either prior to or after lunch

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank justme54481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved This Museum!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I'm a lover of just about all things Southern, so I knew I wanted to check out this museum. It was well worth the $10 admission fee. I believe that the exhibits change throughout the year, so the ones I liked the most may not be there in a few months, but who knows, maybe even better ones will take their place.

One of the photography exhibits was so amusing (these were photos taken by the artist in the 1970's and 1980's and then described by the artist), that I had to try to keep down my laughter so as to not disturb the other patrons (who didn't seem to find anything nearly as funny as I did).

There were several other exhibits that I loved, as well as some that I felt pretty neutral about. Most of the pieces exhibited were 20th century, and a few were outsider art (this definitely is not a museum specializing in outside art), but some of the permanent collection is 19th Century, mostly Louisiana landscapes and portraits of Louisiana people.

The young woman who took my admission fee was very helpful, and asked me on my way out what I thought of the place. I told her I agreed with her recommendations about which were the best things to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fieldsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ogden Museum a Must See in New Orleans”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

For those folks visiting New Orleans and seeing the many attractions of the French Quarter, this museum, in the Warehouse District, is worth a discrete trip. It is close to the World War II museum but I would recommend a separate visit: WWII can take 4 hours (worth it) and this demands a fresh mind and non-achy legs!

Great over view of southern artists, with many special exhibits. Must sees: Clementine Hunter and Benny Andrews. Building itself is welcoming with lovely staff and nice gift shop (no cafe but many places close by to eat).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ibyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ogden Museum of Southern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing