We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wait to get back!”

Lucy's Retired Surfers Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #129 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Lucy's brings the spirit of the ocean to the concrete of the city with a full-service bar, tasty menus and a private room for all of your special events needs.
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to get back!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I ate here 5 years ago on our honeymoon. They had a ceviche there that was FANTASTIC! So we could not wait to go back on this trip and try it again. Sadly, it wasn’t on the menu. Seems they had changed the menu. What we got was still good. They had lots of light salads on the menu. Was just really looking forward to that ceviche. Maggie our server was spectacular!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rposey6844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    233
    68
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had dinner and drinks the last night I was in town and really enjoyed myself. It was directly across from my hotel so I had a nice strong drink. And it came with a giant plastic whale in it which my dog really enjoyed. The food was good, the service was great, the drinks were strong and they played several Beatles songs while I was there. It really doesn't get much better than that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shay281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Red Beans and Rice”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My daughter took me to lunch here as it was the closest place to her office. It was quite a dive bar but I got the red beans and rice and was thrilled with it. When my wife and I went to NOLA in April, I offered to take my daughter to lunch on Monday and suggested we go here so I could get the RB&R again. If your in the Wearhouse District on Monday, stop in and get a dish (for some reason NOLA restaurants only serve red beans and rice on Mondays).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“How Fun!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

There were 6 of us. 2 women, 2 men, 1 child; each found a great meal and we had a blast. The photographs are all over Facebook.
It was so refreshing to find a friendly restaurant/family bar so near the French Quarter, but refined enough to allow a sweet, young boy to still feel comfortable.
I loved it. Cute, cute restaurant. Reasonable prices. Easy in and out. How does it get better than than?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vVckie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So- so”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The appetizers were good - catfish chips and "salsa". Easy, breezy place to hang out if you want to sit and drink. Service outside was pretty bad.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4everPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Retired Surfers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Lucy's Retired Surfers Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing