We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 PM - 11:45 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around New Orleans
from $16.49
More Info
from $36.00
More Info
from $12.99
More Info
from $49.00
More Info
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveler rating
359
141
49
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
359
141
49
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ellis marsalis charmaine neville frenchman street blackened fish great music no bad seats cover charge hear the music bought tickets music lovers monday night french quarter bourbon st quartet stage jazz performance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked no knowing if we’d stay or go. The man at the host stand was incredibly gruff and not at all welcoming. Snug Harbor had been recommended and we’re glad we stayed. Amanda at the bar was incredible and made up for the grumpy host. We listened to Ellis Marsalis through closed circuit TV from their lounge and ended up having a fantastic time. Go to Snug Harbor and ask for Amanda—she’s fantastic.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 415lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

This is a hidden gem on Frenchman Street. The service was great and our waiter was helpful with the menu and trying to figure out what to order. Ended up with the broiled shrimp. I picked the baked potato as my side and it was excellent (covered in bacon,). There was live Jazz in the bar side of the restaurant and it was at the right volume to be able to still talk with your table mates. Unfortunately if you wanted to go to the bar side to listen to the music there was a $15 cover charge.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank DJung2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

We decided to try visit Frenchman Street which was described as calmer, quieter place to listen to music and eat rather than Bourbon Street which is gotten out of control in my opinion. We ended up here for an early dinner so the band was setting up still but the atmosphere was nice with jazz playing softly through the speakers. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. My wife had the fish marigny and I had the ribeye with a ceasar salad. Both were great. The menu is very heavy to seafood as you would expect in New Orleans. Frenchman Street is definitely a place to visit outside of the French Quarter. The only negative for me was that one of the other waitresses was extremely loud, to the point of disrupting the mellow jazz atmosphere that the place is going for.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 777SteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

Although the music was top class and the service was exceptional during the show. The restaurant staff did not seem to give a flying crap.we stood at the please be seated sign for 20 minustes until someone realised we were there. When seated, we were in the middle of asking the waiter a question and he just walked off and didn't come back. A diner in the next table was given a dirty napkin and was given a cup of gumbo instead of a bowl, however, they still wanted to charge for a bowl. We weren't the only ones that received an appalling service.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank estaGiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Went to this place because of the reviews. It was a great decision! Had no idea that it was the best locale to listen to live music. Caught the Ellis Marsalis show which was a real treat. Tickets are always sold out by the time the show starts so make sure to get them at least a day in advance. Every seat was great, however, if you want to see Mr. Marsalis play, sit in the front in the middle or to the right so you can see the handwork and the exchange between his son Jason, the drummer, and him.

With all the great reviews of the food I expected a delicious dinner. It was disappointing. Mediocre at best. People raved about the steak burger and potato. The burger was just a burger, loaded potato was just a potato. Blackened fish with rice ok but not great. Eat dinner somewhere else but have the dessert here. The bread pudding with hart caramel sauce was the best thing I ate all day. Ask for extra sauce because you’ll want to dip every last bite of the pudding into it. Big enough to share between 2 people. Goombay punch is good too.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank pkr0driguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews