We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit”

New Orleans Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Skyvue VIP City Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #31 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum specializes in pre-Columbian art but also houses paintings from European painters like Picasso and Degas.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited the NOMA, and thoroughly enjoyed the Decorative Arts of the World Fairs exhibit. We also visited the museum shop, which was one of the best I have ever seen. I think museum shops are always high quality and great places to find unusual items, but I was particularly pleased with this one and left with several fun items. I also highly recommend a walk through the NOMA sculpture garden. There are some great pieces, and it is a lovely area that includes water features. Even on a hot humid day it was very pleasant.
EBWall

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    265
    69
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go See It!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The World's Fair exhibit at this museum is a must see. I brought my husband, who does not like museums. He found that exhibit to be amazing. The craftsmanship of the work left me speechless.
We did not see the whole museum. What we saw, we loved.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fszedlmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really nice museum, Wednesdays are FREE”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited the New Orleans Museum of Art (NOMA) to take in the exhibit "Inventing the Modern World, Decorative Arts of the World Fairs." We came on a Thursday so there was an admission fee but remember Wednesdays are FREE. This was a large exhibit with making striking examples of decorative arts from the various world fairs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JackWilsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NOMA”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Every year we visit the Museum which is a short walk at the end of the Canal streetcar line. They always have an outstanding special exhibit. This year it was "Portrait of Faith, John Paul II in Life & Art."

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bernicone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LOVED the temporary exhibit of World Fair Decorative Arts”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We felt privileged to be able to see this exhibit. We loved so much we bought the book. Appreciated seeing art works from countries we'd not seen seen art from before. Great casual cafe with picture windows. Very easy access by streetcar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gleefulexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing