We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A work in progress” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
Book In Advance
$26.78*
and up
The National WWII Museum Ticket New Orleans
Ranked #1 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by historian and author, Stephen Ambrose, the Museum tells the story of the American Experience in the war that changed the world - why it was fought, how it was won, and what it means today - so that all generations will understand the price of freedom and be inspired by what they learn. Designated by Congress in 2003 as America's National WWII Museum, the campus includes the Louisiana Memorial Pavilion, showcasing the large artifacts of the war and exhibits on D-Day at Normandy, the Home Front and the Pacific; the Solomon Victory Theater, a 4D theater showing the exclusive Tom Hanks production, Beyond All Boundaries; the Stage Door Canteen, where the music and entertainment of the "Greatest Generation" comes to life; the John E. Kushner Restoration Pavilion, where staff and volunteers restore artifacts in public view; The American Sector restaurant and Soda Shop - delicious onsite dining options; and the new US Freedom Pavilion: The Boeing Center, where exhibits and interactive experiences paint the picture of a nation mobilized for war. Museum exhibits and the Museum Store are open seven days a week, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Museum exhibits and the Museum Store are open seven days a week, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. All venues are closed Mardi Gras Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

DH and I are WW2 buffs and we made a special trip to Nola to see this museum. It was def interesting and the little movie-ettes in small rooms throughout the exhibit are a nice break from the endless walking and standing. Somehow I didnt enjoy this as much as the WW1 museum in Kansas City tho. It seems unfinished. Didnt really learn anything I havent already known but the survivor narratives are always great to hear. Lots of walking and standing!! Would be nice to have more benches for taking a break. Oh. Thats what the cafe and restaurant are for. Silly me!

One thing I would like to say: the place is small and baby strollers and small kids are really a nuisance! Get a sitter - they wont be interested in WW2 anyway.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,051
    2,541
    574
    114
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fanatastic and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the best museum that I have been to. It seems to me that they have utilised all the media advances that have come out of places such as Disney (4d films) and have put them to use to explain a complex subject. The campaigns are explained in a systematic way, there are a lot of short films which help to personalise the information. I was totally absorbed in the information. Regardless of the presentation however, I wouldn't recommend this for children under 14, i don't think that it would hold their attention and apart from the film and the one interactive exhibition they would be bored very quickly. Just an opinion!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Focused on D-Day, But Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had to ask the question: Why is this museum in New Orleans? It is because of historian Stephen Ambrose's New Orleans connections and interest in starting a museum and the Higgins boat factory in New Orleans that produced all the amphibious landing craft for D-Day. The museum now has 3 of 6 planned buildings open. The latest is the Boeing building filled with restored planes. The story of the B-17 "My Gal Sal" was worth the price of admission.
Another exhibit is totally devoted to D-Day. To be balanced, the museum talks about "Pacific D-Days" on each island that America invaded to take that island from the Japanese. That approach is a little odd, but there is plenty to be learned.
The Tom Hanks-narrated movie, "Beyond All Boundaries" is a well-produced and ambitious attempt to cover all of America's involvement in WWII in just 45 minutes. It feels shallow to anyone who knows much about the war, but if it helps introduce the war's history to another generation, I'm all for it.
Overall, you will need several hours to appreciate the museum as it stands in 2013. By 2016, it will double in size.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank amalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The museum is a must visit for anyone interested in U.S. History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent six hours just in one exhibit. The museum is exceptionally well curated, fascinating and a grand salute to all who served in WW II both abroad and at home. Dont miss Beyond All Boundaries, the movie...you will come away with a greater appreciation for your country. Also, try the canteen...very nice "period" menu. If you have just a few days in NOLA put this stop on your list.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chiptrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Powerful and moving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

On our way home from a family vacation in FL, we decided to break up the drive by stopping in New Orleans and visiting the National WWII Museum. What a powerful and moving experience - such an important reminder of the sacrifice my grandfather, and so many others like him, made. The movie featuring Tom Hanks was incredible and every part of the lengthy exhibits were so informative and interesting. Three hours was not enough time to do this museum justice. I sincerely hope to go back one day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFredricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing