We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic gem!”
Review of Preservation Hall

Preservation Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Music Tour
Ranked #12 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New Orleans' Preservation Hall was established in 1961 to honor one of America's truest art forms - Traditional New Orleans Jazz. Operating as a music venue, a touring band, and a non-profit organization, Preservation Hall continues its mission today as a cornerstone of New Orleans music and culture. Situated in the heart of the French Quarter on St. Peter Street, the Preservation Hall venue presents intimate, acoustic New Orleans Jazz concerts over 350 nights a year featuring ensembles from a current collective of 100+ local master practitioners. On any given night, audiences bear joyful witness to the evolution of this venerable and living tradition.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A historic gem!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Small, cramped but worth it all. We got to see the PH Jazz Band after standing on line for an hour and a half for standing-room spots. Very little advanced seating because there are very few seats - nothing has changed since the 1800's - no food or drinks allowed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,902
    702
    265
    99
    63
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't think about it for another second.... GO!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you are in NOLA for even a day, you must take the time to go to Preservation Hall! There is no place on earth with the history, ambiance & authentic music than here. Spend some time, grab a cocktail before you go, sit on the floor, close your eyes and listen to amazing jazz and take it all in - you won't be sorry!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pgh15203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You have to REALLY love jazz”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We took our 10 & 12 year olds to Preservation Hall. Stood in line for almost an hour and stood in the back of a dark, old room with 100 other people. We had no idea that this was the venue. Music was amazing, but you really have to work hard for it. I would definitely recommend purchasing the VIP tickets so you don't have to wait in line for a spot and more importantly, are assured a seat up front.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank eatapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

If you appreciate jazz, you really need to check out preservation hall while you are in NOLA. It can be stuffy in that room, but the music has been fantastic when I've visited. I don't like spend a long time. We usually stop for an hour, and then move on.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Amazing little place”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Get on line early and still expect not to have a seat unless you pay extra. I saw the Preservation Hall Jazz Band - show started about fifteen minutes late but the small, interesting old space, talented musicians and enthusiasic crowd made this a wonderful and unique experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jillles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preservation Hall also viewed

 

Been to Preservation Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing