We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely way to end the night”
Review of Preservation Hall

Preservation Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Music Tour
Ranked #12 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New Orleans' Preservation Hall was established in 1961 to honor one of America's truest art forms - Traditional New Orleans Jazz. Operating as a music venue, a touring band, and a non-profit organization, Preservation Hall continues its mission today as a cornerstone of New Orleans music and culture. Situated in the heart of the French Quarter on St. Peter Street, the Preservation Hall venue presents intimate, acoustic New Orleans Jazz concerts over 350 nights a year featuring ensembles from a current collective of 100+ local master practitioners. On any given night, audiences bear joyful witness to the evolution of this venerable and living tradition.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely way to end the night”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although it was a little cramped, the small venue allowed for everyone to be up close and involved with the performance. Got to see the Tornado Brass Band, and boy was it a delight! Loved that we were encouraged to participate in with the songs. A great feel and happy atmosphere!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElenaorRigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,902
    702
    265
    99
    63
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Jazz at its best!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

You must go there, The talent is the best you will ever hear for $15. Either make this the last place you will hear jazz or make it a place you will go there every night. Going any place else and you will be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank clfurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see in New Orleans!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My sister and I came here on our last night in New Orleans and we are SO glad that we did! Absolutely amazing live jazz!! They do sell water bottles there but they allow you to bring in your own drinks if you prefer. There are no bathrooms here so make sure to go beforehand! Seating is very limited. We made sure to book our tickets in advance so we could by pass the line and made sure we got seats. The cost was double ($30) as opposed to the $15 you'd normally pay if you waited in line. Definitely worth the extra cost and saved us the hours time of waiting in a line up in the heat!! They play for about 45 minutes, but your in there for about an hour in total.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvs2TravelAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, CA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very rustic but fun and genuine - a must see”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is avery fun and family-friendly 45-minute show either sitting on old benches or standing in a very old salon just off the street. A local jazz band plays favorite tunes and really gets everyone involved - go with the flow and have a blast! Be sure to have students bring their ID to get a discounted rate - the staff taking money at the door have no qualms about charging everyone the full $15 price because they really do pack people in as quickly as possible. There are no reservations, just line up outside the Pat O'Brien bar for the 8, 9, and 10:00 PM nightly shows.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveLicata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Day”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We saw the preservation hall but no music was playing, sort of disappointing that music only was playing at night. We were there during the day

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Djb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preservation Hall also viewed

 

Been to Preservation Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing