We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great after all these years...”
Review of Preservation Hall

Preservation Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Music Tour
More Info
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Music and Heritage Tour
Ranked #11 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New Orleans' Preservation Hall was established in 1961 to honor one of America's truest art forms - Traditional New Orleans Jazz. Operating as a music venue, a touring band, and a non-profit organization, Preservation Hall continues its mission today as a cornerstone of New Orleans music and culture. Situated in the heart of the French Quarter on St. Peter Street, the Preservation Hall venue presents intimate, acoustic New Orleans Jazz concerts over 350 nights a year featuring ensembles from a current collective of 100+ local master practitioners. On any given night, audiences bear joyful witness to the evolution of this venerable and living tradition.
Whitney, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years...”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Even though it is almost always fully packed we visit at least once on every trip to New Orleans. Over the decades the prices have of course increased, but it is still worth every penny for this unique jazz experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TRAWhitney_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,011
    720
    273
    102
    62
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had to queue for over an hour to get in but it is worth the wait. fantastic atmosphere, wonderful music make this THE reason for visiting New Orleans.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IcebabyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow, I didn't know I liked jazz”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a classic place (50 yrs old). Wait in line an hour before show time or buy VIP tickets on line in advance (I recommend, you pay 25 instead of 15 at the door). Show was only 40 minutes long, but a great sampling of NOLA jazz. You are close enough to feel the spit from the trombone! Seats only 30, with standing room for 70 (another reason to get VIP tix because you get in first and can sit down). If you are in NOLA, you must go. The rest of Bourbon St with its crazy rock and roll fun is not the heart and soul of NOLA.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Great jazz!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Preservation Hall was amazing. I would recommend it to anyone looking for authentic jazz in the Bourbon St. area. Get in line early, seating is limited.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highlight of our time in the French Quarter”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Not to be missed, the music was everything we'd hoped for and more. These men - ageless and gifted - are consummate performers. The size of the "hall" surprised us. Be forewarned: it's not a hall but a largish room. One-third of the space is for the musicians, one-third has benches which seat about thirty people and the rest of the room is for the 70 or so standees who didn't get in line early enough. We arrived one hour before performance time and thought we were safe. I squeezed onto a bench, but my husband had to stand. We understand that the accommodations have been a 50 year plus tradition but wondered why comfort and safety of the paying public hasn't been considered. Perhaps they can put in more benches and charge a few dollars more? It also seemed a bit tacky to ask for tips for the musicians at the end of their set. (Imagine a symphony orchestra passing the hat at the end of their performance.) The answer is probably that this system has worked for a long time, and the music surpasses all other concerns. Indeed, it does.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bannerdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preservation Hall also viewed

 

Been to Preservation Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing