We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tour, should be on everyone's itinerary”

Confederacy of Cruisers Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ride with us at Confederacy of Cruisers, New Orleans original and oldest bike tour company. Going on 10 years of great tours and great customers keeping us feeling like the luckiest folks in New Orleans every day when we come to work. The tour that started them all and our others, the Culinary, the History of Drinking and our combined Pedal to Paddle with our friends at Kayakityat. New Orleans is so more than the French Quarter and we want to show you what most visitors don't get to experience. The heart of our city is seen through its other historic neighborhoods on the Creole side of Town, the beautiful Faubourg Marignyand Bywater; and there is no better way to explore them than with New Orleans' original bicycle tour company. Join us as we take you for a bike ride around the old streets and tell you the stories of the New Orleans that most tourists miss. The ride is relaxed, with plenty of time to ask questions, and a stop along the way at a neighborhood bar where you can find out all you want about local life while drinking a delicious Bloody Mary, if you like (water or nothing are also fine choices). For those who want to delve a little deeper, we offer a tasty Neighborhood Culinary Tour and a Historic Drinking Tour (where you get to indulge as you learn), all travelling through our our city like the locals do, on easy to ride classic cruiser bicycles. One speed, slow.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, should be on everyone's itinerary”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We did the history tour on our first day in New Orleans. It was perfect, just a cruisy speed on easy roads, very scenic, and Cassidy was very friendly and informative. The tour is topped off with the best Bloody Mary I've ever had. Will do the food tour next time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hoppy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    990
    66
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bike Tour”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great tour of New Orleans by a Cruiser Bike and also the bars. The tour guide Lara Desmond was fantastic. Very knowledgeable about the tour. Had a great time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wally825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best things we did in NoLa!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We did a Creole Tour with Cassady. It was amazing! He was such a wonderful guide, really knowledgeable and funny! He took us outside the French Quarter, and we rode around the neighborhoods and even stopped to have some drinks at bar, that were delicious! He was a fountain of information and gave us a good history on New Orleans, without being dry and boring. He even gave us his card in case we had any questions. He also have us great inside tips on restaurants and bars to go to during our stay. I would insist that everyone take this tour their first day in NoLa, it's a great introduction to an amazing city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best way to see New Orleans”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We did two tours. The Lower Ninth Ward tour is essential for everyone who wants to understand how a community that is a central part of New Orleans identity is coming back after being devastated by Hurricane Katrina. Derek, our guide, a NOLA native, has done some serious research on the history of the Lower NInth and great perspective on its relationship to the city as a whole. He can convey all that in a caring, funny and engaging way. He clearly has a great rapport with the locals, evidenced by the waves and friendly greetings as we cycled through. The highlight was the welcome from Ronald Lewis to his African American Mardi Gras Indian museum, The House of Dance and Feathers, where we gained insight into this amazing tradition and its ongoing cultural significance. As fans of the TV series Treme, we were pleased to hear Mr Lewis say they got it 'about 80% right' - high praise, we thought. The trip through the Marigny and Bywater with Keith was also fantastic - funny, informative, insightful. Both tours included an enjoyable stop at a local bar for a drink and a chat. Forget a bus tour - see New Orleans on a bike with these guys. Very highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Girls Weekend in New Orleans- BEST TOUR!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

There were seven women taking a modified bike tour with Cassandra. Everyone totally enjoyed the tour with Cassandra. She had a vast amount of information regarding New Orleans and we all appreciate her loving her job! We are glad we took the tour on our first day. The lunch was awesome at Liuzza’s. I want to go back to try more of the menu! Cassandra gave us great recommendations for places to see and excellent restaurants for our remaining days in New Orleans. I would definitely do another tour with her when I come to town again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bdur2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confederacy of Cruisers Bike Tours also viewed

 

Been to Confederacy of Cruisers Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing